Journal of the Senate

TWENTY-SEVENTH DAY

Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Friday, February 21, 2014, 8:00 a.m.

The Senate was called to order by President Susan Wagle.

The roll was called with twenty-eight senators present.

Senators Apple, Donovan, Haley, Hawk, Holland, Holmes, King, Longbine, Love, Lynn, Masterson, and McGinn were excused.

Invocation by Father Don Davidson:

Dear Lord, I am not sure I really understand the concept of Fridays and the weekend. I admit this in true honesty to you Lord, but it seems that every day is a gift you have bestowed upon us. You have also asked that we be good stewards of the time you have given us, observe Sabbath time, rest as needed, eat of the fruits of the earth, love and be loved and be accountable. May the weekend be a time of refreshment for all of us so that every day we may receive, with joy, the times you have given. In your name we pray. Amen

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Susan Wagle.

REFERENCE OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

The following bills were referred to Committees as indicated:

Assessment and Taxation: HB 2511, HB 2557.

Federal and State Affairs: HB 2599.

Judiciary: SB 415, SB 416; HB 2491, HB 2493, HB 2495, HB 2501, HB 2502.

Natural Resources: SB 412.

Public Health and Welfare: SB 414; Sub HB2436.

Ways and Means: HB 2504.

CHANGE OF REFERENCE

The President withdrew SB 281 from the Committee on Ways and Means, and rereferred the bill to the Committee on Natural Resources.

The President withdrew **SB 316** from the Committee on Ways and Means, and rereferred the bill to the Committee on Public Health and Welfare.

TRIBUTES

The Committee on **Organization, Calendar and Rules** authorizes the following tributes for the week of February 17-21, 2014:

Senator Bowers: congratulating Mike and Kathy Slipke on receiving the 2013

Osborne County Bankers Energy Conservation Award, congratulating Rodney and Lindsey Doane on receiving the 2013 Osborne County Bankers Soil Conservation Award, congratulating Alan and Cindy Poore on receiving the 2013 Osborne County Windbreak Award, congratulating Kent and Pam Truan on receiving the 2013 Russell County Conservation District Windbreak Award, congratulating Shari Haug for receiving the 2014 KSBDC Existing and Emerging Small Business Award, congratulating Steve and Raeleen Reinhardt for receiving the 2013 Russell County District Soil Conservation Award, congratulating Lloyd and Norma Gier for receiving the 2013 Kansas Bankers Association Soil Conservation Award, congratulating Lucinda Stuenkel for receiving the 2014 Washington County Conservation Range Management Award:

Senator Kelly: congratulating Ivan and Jeanie Seele on their 60th Wedding Anniversary;

Senator Schmidt: recognizing Michael John Meenen for achieving the rank of Eagle Scout; and,

Senators Wagle, Bruce, and Hensley: recognizing John Charles Milburn on achieving the rank of Eagle Scout.

On motion of Senator Bruce, the Senate adjourned until 2:30 p.m., Monday, February 24, 2014.

ROSE MARIE GLATT, CHARLENE BAILEY, CINDY SHEPARD, *Journal Clerks*. COREY CARNAHAN, *Secretary of the Senate*.