Journal of the Senate

FIFTH DAY

Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Friday, January 17, 2014, 8:00 a.m.

The Senate was called to order by President Susan Wagle. The roll was called with thirty senators present. Senators Apple, Donovan, Haley, Holland, Holmes, Lynn, Masterson, O'Donnell, Wolf were excused.

Invocation by Father Don Davidson:

Holy God, our first week is coming to an end. We greet you this morning with a greater awareness of the mountains that must be climbed, the copies made, files created and words committed. There is much to do. Help us to enjoy a Sabbath rest, to reconnect with our loved ones and safely return rested, ready and rededicated to the days still to come. In your holy name we pray. Amen

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Susan Wagle.

REFERENCE OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

The following bills were referred to Committees as indicated:

Assessment and Taxation: SB 265, SB 266. Ethics and Elections: SB 274, SB 275. Financial Institutions and Insurance: SB 267, SB 268. Judiciary: SB 269, SB 270, SB 271. Natural Resources: SB 272, SB 276. Transportation: SB 273. Utilities: SB 279, SB 280. Ways and Means: SB 277, SB 278.

REPORT ON ENROLLED BILLS

SR 1775 reported correctly enrolled, properly signed and presented to the Secretary of the Senate on January 17, 2014.

TRIBUTES

The Committee on Organization, Calendar and Rules authorizes the following tributes for the week of January 13 through January 17, 2014:

Senator Apple: congratulating and commending Jenny M. Nash on being named a 2014 Kansas Regional Teacher of the Year;

Senator Bowers: congratulating Richard Diers on his 100th Birthday; congratulating

and commending the Wilson Family on 100 years of service; congratulating and commending Bryan and Betsy Reinert on being named the Kansas Farm Bureau's 2013 Farm Family of the Year; congratulating and commending Sherry Wiesen on being named the Kansas Business Secondary Educator of the Year; congratulating and commending Tebow Plumbing on 50 years of business; congratulating and commending Jon and Kim Birky for being named the Russell Post Rock Family Service's 2013 Family of the Year; congratulating and commending Cloud County Health Center Auxiliary on receiving the Gold Award of Excellence; congratulating and commending Kerrick Kuder for receiving the 2013 Lucas PRIDE Youth Leadership Award;

Senator Bruce: congratulating and commending Katie Perez on being name a 2014 Kansas Regional Teacher of the Year;

Senator Fitzgerald: congratulating and commending Jeff Baxter on being named the 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year;

Senator Kelly: congratulating and commending Mary Lonker on being named a 2014 Kansas Regional Teacher of the Year;

Senator McGinn: congratulating and commending Jennifer M. Bailey on being named a 2014 Kansas Regional Teacher of the Year; congratulating and commending Marney Hay on being named a 2014 Kansas Regional Teacher of the Year;

Senator Melcher: congratulating and commending Jennifer R. Smith on being named a 2014 Kansas Regional Teacher of the Year;

Senator Olson: honoring Lt. Col. Theodore E. Lockwood, II for his service in the United States Army;

Senator Ostmeyer: congratulating Denton Rathke on achieving the rank of Eagle Scout;

Senator Petersen: recognizing the outstanding service of Pastor Mark Posson; recognizing the outstanding service of Central Christian Church; and

Senator Pilcher-Cook: congratulating and commending Brandi Leggett on being named a 2014 Kansas Regional Teacher of the Year.

On motion of Senator Bruce, the Senate adjourned until 2:30 p.m., Tuesday, January 21, 2014.

ROSE MARIE GLATT, CHARLENE BAILEY, CINDY SHEPARD, Journal Clerks. COREY CARNAHAN, Secretary of the Senate.