Journal of the Senate

SECOND DAY

Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Tuesday, January 14, 2014, 2:30 p.m.

The Senate was called to order by President Wagle. The roll was called with thirty-eight senators present. Senators Holland and Pyle were excused.

Invocation by Father Don Davidson:

Every great decision O God, begins with a dream which aligns itself with hope and craves a sprinkling of creativity and a dash of ingenuity. All the gifts necessary for the making of the best decisions are held within the minds and hearts of the members of this body. Please help all of us to remember our blessings, seek your guidance and be aware of the mystery and wonder of your presence in all we do. In your holy name we pray. Amen

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Susan Wagle.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

The following bills were introduced and read by title:

SB 256, AN ACT concerning criminal procedure; relating to appeals; costs charged by attorney general; amending K.S.A. 22-3612 and repealing the existing section, by Committee on Judiciary.

SB 257, AN ACT concerning crimes, punishment and criminal procedure; relating to review and appeal of convictions resulting in a sentence of death; limitations and procedure for motions to correct sentence; amending K.S.A. 60-1507 and K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 21-6619 and repealing the existing sections, by Committee on Judiciary.

SB 258, AN ACT concerning the Kansas juvenile justice code; relating to time limitations; sex crimes; amending K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 38-2303 and repealing the existing section, by Committee on Judiciary.

REFERENCE OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

The following bills were referred to Committees as indicated:

Ethics and Elections: SB 253. Judiciary: SB 254, SB 255.

REFERENCE OF APPOINTMENTS

The following appointments made by the Governor and submitted to the Senate for confirmation, were referred to Committees as indicated:

Member - 3, State Board of Indigents Defense Services:

Ronald Wurtz, to serve Term ends January 15, 2014.

(Judiciary)

Member - 7, State Board of Indigents Defense Services:

Jaime Rogers, to serve Term ends January 15, 2016.

(Judiciary)

Member - 3, Kansas Human Rights Commission:

Marilyn Wilder, to serve Term ends January 15, 2014.

(Federal and State Affairs)

Member - 4, State Banking Board:

Norman Pishny, to serve Term ends March 15, 2016.

(Financial Institutions and Insurance)

Secretary, Department of Agriculture:

Jackie McClaskey, to serve At the pleasure of the governor.

(Agriculture)

Member - 1, Central Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission:

John Mitchell, to serve At the pleasure of the governor.

(Utilities)

Member - 1, State Board of Indigents Defense Services:

Jeffrey Leiker, to serve Term ends January 15, 2015.

(Judiciary)

Member - 13, University of Kansas Hospital Authority:

Dervl Wynn, to serve Term ends March 15, 2017.

(Public Health and Welfare)

Member - 10, University of Kansas Hospital Authority:

Jack Newman, to serve Term ends March 15, 2016.

(Public Health and Welfare)

Member - 1, State Corporation Commission:

Jay Emler, to serve Term ends March 15, 2015.

(Utilities)

Executive Director, State Lottery Commission:

Terry Presta, to serve At the pleasure of the governor.

(Federal and State Affairs)

COMMUNICATIONS FROM STATE OFFICERS

KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION

January 14, 2014

Executive Director Kim Christiansen and Director, Ryan A. Hoffman, Conversation Division submitted a report on the Remediation Site Status Report and the Conservation Division Abandoned Oil and Well Status Report.

The President announced the above report is on file in the office of the Secretary of the Senate and is available for review at any time.

INTRODUCTION OF ORIGINAL MOTIONS AND SENATE RESOLUTIONS

Senators Abrams and Fitzgerald introduced the following Senate resolution, which was read:

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1774--

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas state department of education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers – one elementary and one secondary – in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as Kansas Teacher of the Year; the Kansas Teacher of the Year being chosen from among the eight finalists. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded the Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities to support the mission of the program. The 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year and finalists were honored at an awards banquet on November 23, 2013. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the events; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers sponsored by Target in partnership with the ING Foundation, the University of Phoenix and People to People Ambassador Programs; and

WHEREAS, The 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Jeff Baxter, Leavenworth USD 453, and the regional finalists are Jennifer M. Bailey, Valley Center USD 262; Marney Hay, Maize USD 266; Brandi Leggett, De Soto USD 232; Mary Lonker, Wamego USD 320; Jenny M. Nash, Paola USD 368; Katie Perez, Hutchinson USD 308; and Jennifer R. Smith, Blue Valley USD 229: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year team and wish Mr. Baxter success in the national competition; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send eight enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to the members of the 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

On emergency motion of Senator Abrams **SR 1774** was adopted unanimously. The Senators recognized the teachers with a standing ovation.

CONSIDERATION OF MOTIONS AND SENATE RESOLUTIONS

SR 1773, A resolution relating to the rules of the Senate for 2013-2016; amending Rule 7, relating to standing committees.

On motion of Senator Bruce SR 1773 was adopted unanimously by voice vote.

On motion of Senator Bruce, the Senate adjourned until 2:30 p.m, Wednesday, January 15, 2014.

ROSE MARIE GLATT, CHARLENE BAILEY, CINDY SHEPARD, *Journal Clerks*. COREY CARNAHAN, *Secretary of the Senate*.