Journal of the Senate

SEVENTIETH DAY

Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Thursday, May 30, 2013, 10:30 a.m.

The Senate was called to order by President Susan Wagle. The roll was called with thirty-seven senators present. Senators Donovan, Emler and Haley were excused. Invocation by Father Don Davidson:

O God, you made us in your own image: Look with compassion on the whole human family; take away the arrogance and hatred which infect our hearts; break down the walls that separate us; unite us in bonds of love, respect and understanding; and work through our struggle and confusion to accomplish your purposes on earth; that, in your good time, we may serve you in harmony around your heavenly throne; in your Holy name we pray. Amen

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Susan Wagle.

MESSAGE FROM THE GOVERNOR

To the Senate of the State of Kansas

Submitted herewith for confirmation by the Senate are appointments made by me as the Governor of the State of Kansas, pursuant to law.

Sam Brownback Governor

Member, Kansas Racing and Gaming Commission, Timothy Shultz (R), Topeka, pursuant to the authority vested in me by the KSA 74-8803 effective upon the date of confirmation by the Senate, to serve a four year term, to expire January 15, 2017.

Member, State Civil Service Board, Susan Christopher (D), Olathe, pursuant to the authority vested in me by the KSA 75-2929(a) effective upon the date of confirmation by the Senate, to serve a four year, to expire March 15, 2017.

INTRODUCTION OF ORIGINAL MOTIONS AND SENATE RESOLUTIONS

Senators Hawk, Abrams, Hensley, Kerschen, Knox and Tyson introduced the following Senate resolution, which was read:

SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1768—

A RESOLUTION congratulating Kansas State University on a successful year in inter-collegiate athletics.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State University Athletic Department has had unprecedented success this year with several major accomplishments including Big XII Title Championships and Big XII Coach of the Year awards in football, men's basketball and baseball; and

WHEREAS, The 2012 Kansas State Wildcats football team captured the Big XII Title with a record of 11-2 and a conference record of 8-1. The successful Wildcat football season ended in an invitation to the Tostito's Fiesta Bowl. Head Coach Bill Snyder was named the Big XII Coach of the Year and under his direction, the Wildcats had their first ever No. 1 ranking in the BCS standings; and

WHEREAS, The 2012-2013 Kansas State men's basketball team won their first Big XII Conference Title in 36 years. Under Head Coach Bruce Weber, the Wildcats had an impressive 27-8 record overall and a 14-4 record in the Big XII Conference. Coach Weber was named this year's Big XII Coach of the Year after guiding the Wildcats through such a successful season; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas State baseball team was also named Big XII Conference champions this year. While the team's season is not yet over, they captured the Big XII Championship with an overall record of 36-19 and a conference record of 16-8. Head Coach Brad Hill was named Big XII Coach of the Year, making him the third coach from Kansas State University to win that award for the academic year; and

WHEREAS, Kansas State University is the first school in league history to have its football, men's basketball and baseball coaches all win the Big XII Coach of the Year award in the same academic year. This is also only the second time in league history that the same school won the Big XII Conference Title in football, men's basketball and baseball: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate Kansas State University on its extraordinary inter-collegiate athletic success this year. This is an historic year for Kansas State Athletics, and we congratulate the school's accomplishments and wish them future success; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide eight enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Hawk.

On emergency motion of Senator Hawk SR 1768 was adopted unanimously.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MADAM PRESIDENT AND MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2216** agrees to disagree and recommends that a new conference committee be appointed;

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Ty Masterson Jim Denning Laura Kelly Conferees on part of Senate

Peter DeGraaf Jim Howell Harold Lane Conferees on part of House

On motion of Senator Masterson the Senate adopted the conference committee report on **HB 2216**, and requested a new conference be appointed.

The Vice President appointed Senators Masterson, Denning and Kelly as second Conference Committee on the part of the Senate on **HB 2216**.

On motion of Senator Bruce, the Senate was recessed until 2:30 p.m.

The Senate met, pursuant to recess with Vice President King in the chair.

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE

The House adopts the Conference Committee report to agree to disagree on **HB 2216**, and has appointed Representatives DeGraaf, Howell and Lane as second conferees on the part of the House.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MADAM PRESIDENT AND MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **H Sub for SB 84** agrees to disagree and recommends that a new conference committee be appointed:

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Richard Carlson
Scott Schwab
Conferees on part of Senate
Caryn Tyson
Terry Bruce
Conferees on part of House

On motion of Senator Tyson the Senate adopted the conference committee report on **H Sub for SB 84**, and requested a new conference be appointed.

The President appointed Senators Tyson, Bruce and Holland as a fourth Conference Committee on the part of the Senate on **H Sub for SB 84**.

On motion of Senator Bruce, the Senate recessed until 4:30 p.m.

The Senate met, pursuant to recess with Vice President King in the chair.

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE

The House adopts the Conference Committee report to agree to disagree on **H Sub for SB 84**, and has appointed Representatives Carlson, Schwab and Menghini as fourth conferees on the part of the House.

CHANGE OF CONFEREES

Vice President King announced under the authority of the President, the replacement of Senators King, Smith and Haley with Senators Tyson, Bruce and Holland as members of the Conference Committee on **SB 63**.

Vice President King announced under the authority of the President, the replacement of Senators Love, Kerschen and Francisco with Senators King, Smith and Haley as members of the Conference Committee on **HB 2049.**

On motion of Senator Bruce, the Senate adjourned until 10:30 a.m., Friday, May 31, 2013.

HELEN MORELAND, ROSE MARIE GLATT, CHARLENE BAILEY, Journal Clerks.

DIANE MINEAR, Secretary of the Senate.

П