Journal of the Senate

SIXTY-NINTH DAY

SENATE CHAMBER, TOPEKA, KANSAS Wednesday, May 29, 2013, 10:30 a.m.

The Senate was called to order by President Susan Wagle. The roll was called with thirty-four senators present. Senators Bowers, Donovan, Haley, Masterson, Melcher and Petersen were excused. Invocation by Father Don Davidson:

Creator God, we pause in humble acceptance of the power of nature. Over the last few days storms have caused significant damage to the property and well being of our fellow Kansas Citizens. Many counties and communities were affected. We are awe struck when looking at the destruction. This morning we pray for the resilient families and communities where the storms fury was felt. We hope that neighbors and friends will share and care and help pick up the pieces. And Dear God we pray for peace in their hearts in the knowing that they are not alone. For yours is the majesty and the power. Amen

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Susan Wagle.

MESSAGE FROM THE GOVERNOR

May 24, 2013

Message to the Senate of the State of Kansas:

Enclosed herewith is Executive Order No. 13-01 for your information.

EXECUTIVE ORDER 13-01

Conditional and Temporary Relief from Motor Carrier Rules and Regulations.

Sam Brownback Governor of Kansas

The President announced the above report is on file in the Office of the Secretary of the Senate and is available for review at any time.

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE

The House not adopts the conference committee report on **H Sub for SB 84** and appoints Reps. Carlson, Schwab and Menghini as third conferees.

Announcing the appointment of Rep. Lane to replace Rep. Burroughs as a conferee on **HB 2216.**

1008

ORIGINAL MOTION

On motion of Senator Tyson, the Senate acceded to the request of the House for a conference on ${\bf H}$ Sub for SB 84.

The President appointed Senators Tyson, Bruce and Holland as third conferees on the part of the Senate.

On motion of Senator Bruce, the Senate adjourned until 10:30 a.m., Thursday, May 30, 2013.

HELEN MORELAND, ROSE MARIE GLATT, CHARLENE BAILEY, Journal Clerks. DIANE MINEAR, Secretary of the Senate.

##