Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
May 28, 2024
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

SB 169

AN ACT concerning taxation; relating to income tax; providing a 5.25% tax rate for individuals and decreasing the normal tax for corporations; discontinuing possible future corporate rate decreases as a result of agreements under the attracting powerful economic expansion program act; increasing the income limit to qualify for a subtraction modification for social security income; allowing a taxpayer to elect the taxable year in which a subtraction modification for contributions to a qualified tuition program would be applied; increasing the Kansas standard deduction for single filers and further increasing by a cost-of-living adjustment; discontinuing the food sales tax credit; relating to sales and compensating use tax; reducing the rate of tax on sales of food and food ingredients; relating to property tax; increasing the extent of exemption for residential property from the statewide school levy; relating to privilege tax rates; decreasing the normal tax; amending K.S.A. 79-1107 and 79-1108 and K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 74-50,321, 79-201x, 79-32,110, 79-32,117, 79-32,119, 79-32,271, 79-3603, 79-3603d, 79-3620, 79-3703 and 79-3710 and repealing the existing sections.

(printable version)

House - Committee of the Whole - Amendment by Representative Sawyer was adopted - 03/28/2023

On roll call the vote was:

Yea - (97):

Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Awerkamp, Ballard, Blew, Blex, Borjon, Boyd, Bryce, Buehler, Butler, Carlin, Carmichael, B. Carpenter, Carr, Clifford, Collins, Corbet, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, Ellis, Eplee, Essex, Fairchild, Featherston, Francis, Garber, Goddard, Goetz, Haskins, Haswood, Helgerson, Highberger, Hill, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Hougland, Houser, Howe, Hoye, Jacobs, Johnson, Kessler, Landwehr, Martinez, Maughan, Melton, Meyer, D. Miller, S. Miller, V. Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Ohaebosim, Oropeza, Osman, Ousley, Owens, Patton, Poskin, Probst, Rahjes, Resman, Rhiley, Robinson, Roth, L. Ruiz, S. Ruiz, Sanders, Sawyer, Sawyer Clayton, Schlingensiepen, Schreiber, A. Smith, C. Smith, Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Titus, Turk, Turner, Vaughn, Weigel, White, K. Williams, L. Williams, Winn, Woodard, Xu, Younger,

Nay - (23):

Barth, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Bloom, W. Carpenter, Concannon, Donohoe, Droge, Estes, Gardner, Hawkins, Howell, Howerton, Humphries, Lewis, Penn, Pickert, Schmoe, Seiwert, E. Smith, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster,

Present but not Voting - (0):

Absent and Not Voting - (5):

Croft, Mason, Poetter Parshall, Proctor, Underhill,

Not Voting - (0):