SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1739

A RESOLUTION recognizing the members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., for their outstanding service to the citizens of our state, our nation and the international community and their promotion of sisterhood, scholarship and service.

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a private, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support to local communities throughout the world in diverse fields relating to public service through the organization's established five-point programmatic thrust: Economic development, educational development, international awareness and involvement, physical and mental health, and political awareness and involvement; and

WHEREAS, On January 13, 1913, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., was founded at Howard University in the District of Columbia by: Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Fredrica Chase Dodd, Myra Davis Hemmings, Olive C. Jones, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza Pearl Shippen, Florence Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Penn White and Edith Motte Young; and

WHEREAS, In March 1913, the founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., participated in the Women's Suffrage March in the District of Columbia, which was the sorority's first public act; and

WHEREAS, Since its founding, more than 300,000 women have joined the organization; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., has eight chapters in Kansas and a total of 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters in the United States, Canada, Japan, Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica, West Africa and the Republic of Korea: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize the members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., for their outstanding service to the citizens of our state, our nation and the international community and for their promotion of sisterhood, scholarship and service; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send enrolled copies of this resolution to Trudy Baker, Honorable Gwynne Birzer, Jasmine Burrell, Ashlynn Clark, Anna Gregory, Dr. Felicia C. Echols, Carrington Jackson, Dr. Christina Love, Valerie Patterson, Erica Wills, Sue E. Wilson, Tanya Young, Senator Faust Goudeau and Senator Haley.

Senate Resolution No. 1739 was sponsored by Senators Oletha Faust Goudeau and David Haley.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	-
_	President of the Senate.
	_

Secretary of the Senate.