SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1732

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2024 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Department of Education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state: and

WHEREAS, The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers – one elementary and one secondary – in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as Kansas Teacher of the Year, with the recipient being chosen from among the eight finalists; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded with the Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship, which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities supporting the mission of the program. The 2024 Kansas Teacher of the Year and finalists were honored at an awards banquet on September 23, 2023. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the event; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers, presented by Voya Financial; and

WHEREAS, The 2024 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Taylor Bussinger, Olathe USD 233; and the regional finalists are: Cherryl Delacruz, Topeka USD 501; Gretchen Elliott, Smoky Valley USD 400; Joanna Farmer, Wichita USD 259; Melissa Haney, Goddard USD 265; Erin Pittenger, Rock Creek USD 323; Michelle Tapko, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Fonda Telthorst, Piper Kansas City USD 203: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2024 Kansas Teacher of the Year team; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send eight enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Baumgardner.

Senate Resolution No. 1732 was sponsored by Senators Baumgardner, Alley, Billinger, Blasi, Bowers, Claeys, Corson, Dietrich, Erickson, Fagg, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Gossage, Holscher, Kerschen, Kloos, Longbine, Masterson, McGinn, Olson, O'Shea, Peck, Petersen, Pettey, Pittman, Reddi, Shallenburger, Straub, Sykes, Thompson, Tyson, Ware, Warren and Wilborn.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution original	ated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body
	_
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.