SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1714

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2023 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of Kansas' best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2023; and WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2023 winners; and

WHEREAS, The 2023 Kansas Master Teachers are Kristen Anderson, a fifth grade teacher at North Fairview Elementary School in Seaman, USD 345; Kirstin Bangerter, an English teacher at Dodge City High School in Dodge City, USD 443; Jerald Braun, a gifted education teacher at Hays Middle School and High School in Hays, USD 489; Matt Christensen, a social studies teacher at Blue Valley Southwest High School in Blue Valley Schools, USD 229; Melissa Hall, a STEM/technology teacher at Fort Riley Middle School in Geary County, USD 475; Martha MacKay, a physical science teacher at Emporia High School in Emporia, USD 253; and Maggie Wolken, a kindergarten teacher at Chanute Elementary School in Chanute, USD 413; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1953; and

WHEREAS, The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and who also exemplify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than \$100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher Awards; and

WHEREAS, In 1984, the Black family of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers; and

WHEREAS, The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State University for part of a semester during which they present to classes of education students; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the State of Kansas recognize the invaluable contributions of great teachers such as those being honored today; and

WHEREAS, These 2023 Master Teachers serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration, as well as instruction. They teach with heart and soul, and by giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2023 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrating excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That we offer heartfelt thanks to these extraordinary educators who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet persevere, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best and overcoming the frustrations inherent in their jobs, and we extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send seven enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine.

Senate Resolution No. 1714 was sponsored by Senator Jeff Longbine.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.