# Journal of the Senate

# THIRD DAY

Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Wednesday, January 10, 2024, 2:30 p.m.

The Senate was called to order by Vice President Rick Wilborn. The roll was called with 40 senators present. Invocation by Reverend Cecil T. Washington:

Knowing That God Is With Us Psalm 33:12, Exodus 33:15,22-23

Lord, You have called us to personify righteousness; to exemplify it openly and widely, even while facing contrariness. You've blessed us to have influence with the purpose of promoting an improved, more significant and substantial way of life.

In Psalm 33:12, You confirm that the nation or the people that stick with You will be blessed prosperous and flourishing. Lord, as we are confronted with the trials and challenges involved in serving Your people, give us the confidence that You gave Your servant-leader Moses.

In Exodus 33:15, realizing the gravity of the task he was facing, he declared that he would not tackle it alone. He needed Your assurance that You would go with him. In a like manner, Lord, as we tackle the concerns of Your people, we need the promise of Your presence. We need the confidence of knowing that You're with us, even when it doesn't look like it. Lord, when all is said and done, let the words be uttered that God really was with us.

Thank You for blessing us with the evidence of Your presence. In the Name of our Emmanuel, Amen!

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Vice President Wilborn.

## MESSAGES FROM THE GOVERNOR

The following appointments made by the Governor and submitted to the Senate for confirmation were introduced and their appointment letters read:

Andrew French, Commissioner, Kansas Corporation Commission (submitted: September 6, 2023)

Jonathan Rolph, Member, Kansas Board of Regents (submitted: June 23, 2023)

## COMMUNICATIONS FROM STATE OFFICERS

The following reports were submitted to the Senate and are on file with the Secretary of the Senate:

FY 2024 IDD Crisis Stabilization Report, Kansas Department for Aging and

Disabilities Services

988 Secretary"s Report to the 2024 Legislature, Kansas Department for Aging and Disabilities

SPTP Report to Governor and Legislature for 2024, Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services

FY 2023 ROZ Annual Report, Kansas Department of Commerce

FY 2023 PEAK Annual Report, Kansas Department of Commerce

2023 APEX Annual Report, Kansas Department of Commerce

FY 2023 JCF Annual Report, Kansas Department of Commerce

2023 Annual Apprenticeship Annual Report, Kansas Department of Commerce

2023 Annual Report of the Office of the State Treasurer

Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses Statistical Report, Office of the Attorney General

Capital Improvement State Aid (US Bond Elections), Kansas Department of Education

#### CHANGE OF REFERENCE

Under the authority of the President, the Vice President withdrew the appointment of Mark Engholm from the Calendar under the heading of Consideration of Appointments and referred the appointment to the Committee on Federal and State Affairs

Under the authority of the President, the Vice President withdrew **HB 2446** from the Committee on **Commerce**, and referred the bill to the Committee on **Federal and State Affairs** 

#### CHANGE OF CONFERENCE

Senators Tyson, Peck, and Holland are appointed to replace Senators Longbine, Fagg, and Holscher as members of the conference committee on **HB 2284**.

#### STRICKEN FROM THE CALENDAR

SB 82, SB 152, SB 203, SB 238, SB 295; HCR 5013 were stricken from the calendar.

#### REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES

Your Committee on **Confirmation Oversight** begs leave to submit the following report: The following appointments were referred to and considered by the committee, and your committee recommends that the Senate approve and consent to such appointments:

By the Governor:

Secretary, Department of Transportation: K.S.A 75-5001

Calvin Reed, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor

Member, Kansas Development Finance Authority: K.S.A. 74-8903

Alan Deines, to serve a term expiring on January 15, 2026

Jon Small, to serve a term expiring on January 15, 2027

Member, Employment Security Board of Review: K.S.A. 44-709

Dawn McClure, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2026

Pamela Pierce, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2027

Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol: K.S.A. 74-2113

Erik Smith, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor

Brigadier General, Kansas National Guard: K.S.A. 2023 Supp. 48-208

Col. Nick Jaskolski, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor

Member, Kansas Racing and Gaming Commission: K.S.A. 74-8803

Mike Fleming, to serve a term expiring on January 15, 2027

Larry Turnquist, to serve a term expiring on January 15, 2027

Member, Kansas Lottery Commission: K.S.A. 74-8709

Catherine Moyer, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2027

Vicki Ryan, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2027

Ed Trimmer, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2027

Member, Public Employee Relations Board: K.S.A. 75-4323

Joni Franklin, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2027

Keeley Schneider, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2027

Member, Kansas Public Employees Retirement System Board of Trustees: K.S.A. 74-4905

Emily Bowersock-Hill, to serve a term expiring on January 15, 2027

Brad Stratton, to serve a term expiring on January 15, 2027

State Fire Marshall, Office of State Fire Marshall: K.S.A. 75-1510

Mark Engholm, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor

Member, Pooled Money Investment Board: K.S.A. 75-4221a

Craig Heideman, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2026

Patty Becker, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2028

Member, State Banking Board: K.S.A. 74-3004

Justin Nichols, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2026

Member, State Board of Indigents' Defense Services: K.S.A. 22-4519

Michelle Ewert, to serve a term expiring on January 15, 2026

Member, State Board of Regents: K.S.A. 74-3202a

Alysia Johnston, to serve a term expiring on June 30, 2027

Neelima Parasker, to serve a term expiring on June 30, 2027

Commissioner, State Corporation Commission: K.S.A. 74-601

Ann Keuther, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2027

Member, University of Kansas Hospital Authority: K.S.A. 76-3304

Dr. Romano Delcore, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2026

Dr. Elizabeth Henderson King, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2026

Kevin Lockett, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2027

Robba Moran, to serve a term expiring on March 15, 2026

On motion of Senator Alley, the Senate adjourned until 2:30 p.m., Thursday, January 11, 2024.

CHARLENE BAILEY, CINDY SHEPARD, Journal Clerks.

COREY CARNAHAN, Secretary of the Senate.