HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6008

A RESOLUTION commemorating the 150th Anniversary of Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas.

WHEREAS, Washburn University was established by the General Association of Congregational Ministers and Churches of Kansas on February 6, 1865, as Lincoln College to promote the dissemination of knowledge and the advancement of virtue and religion; and

WHEREAS, Washburn University afforded to all classes, without distinction of color or gender, the advantages of a liberal education to fit them for positions of responsibility and usefulness; and

WHEREAS, Classes began on January 3, 1866, with 22 men, including one African-American, and 16 women students; and

WHEREAS, In acknowledgment of a generous gift by Ichabod Washburn of Worcester, Massachusetts, the trustees renamed the school in his honor on November 19, 1868; and

WHEREAS, The University moved to its present location in 1874 with the construction of Rice Hall on 160 acres southwest of town; and

WHEREAS, The Law School began in 1903 and continues to prepare high quality attorneys; and

WHEREAS, Topeka voters approved a property tax to support Washburn University in 1941; and

WHEREAS, Washburn University rose from the debris of a devastating tornado on June 8, 1966; and

WHEREAS, The Schools of Business, Nursing, and Applied Studies were added in 1973, 1974 and 1983, respectively; and

WHEREAS, In 1999, the Legislature authorized conversion from a property tax to a sales tax; and

WHEREAS, Campus was transformed to offer residential experiences with the opening of the Living Learning Center in 2000 and Washburn Villages in 2004; and WHEREAS, In 2008, Kaw Area Technical School affiliated with the University to

become the Washburn Institute of Technology; and

WHEREAS, Washburn University students hail from all 50 states and 40 countries; and

WHEREAS, Washburn University's athletics program began with baseball in 1879, followed by football in 1891. In 1905, Washburn University's football team played the first game where the forward pass was thrown; and

WHEREAS, Washburn University basketball was first played by women in 1901 and men in 1906. National championships were won in 1925, 1987 and 2005; and

WHEREAS, Graduate Earl Sutherland was recognized as a giant in the field of molecular biology with his 1971 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine; and

WHEREAS, More than 42,000 alumni are proud to call Washburn University their alma mater; whose graduates include clergy, heads of state, leaders of industry, great humanitarians, gifted scientists and attorneys, whose work has improved the quality of life for people worldwide; and

WHEREAS, Shawnee county benefits from more Washburn graduates than any other university graduates; and WHEREAS, Washburn University's commitment to education has emphasized

WHEREAS, Washburn University's commitment to education has emphasized teaching and learning and working in partnership with various communities to prepare global citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we commend and celebrate the 150th Anniversary of Washburn University at Topeka. Washburn University provides students of Kansas with incredible educational opportunities, and we urge all Kansans to celebrate its success.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the HOUSE, and was adopted by that body

Speaker of the House.

Chief Clerk of the House.