SESSION OF 2007

SUPPLEMENTAL NOTE ON HOUSE BILL NO. 2014

As Amended by Senate Committee of the Whole

Brief*

HB 2014, as amended, would establish the Kansas Technical College and Technical School Commission. The Commission would have ten voting members and one ex-officio member. The bill details requirements for appointment. The Commission would meet on call of the chairperson or on the request of six or more members. The Commission would study and conduct hearings on the governance, funding, and mission of Kansas technical colleges and technical schools.

The bill would require the Commission to submit reports of its activities and recommendations to the Legislative Educational Planning Committee (LEPC) with a preliminary report by November 15, 2007, and a final report by November 15, 2008. The Commission would expire on December 31, 2008.

Background

At the hearing on this bill, a representative of the Kansas Association of Technical Schools and Colleges testified on the bill's behalf. There were no opponents.

The House Committee amended the bill to provide that when making the initial appointments to the Commission, the appointing authorities shall appoint the same persons they had appointed to the Kansas Technical College and Vocational School Commission created by proviso during the 2006

^{*}Supplemental notes are prepared by the Legislative Research Department and do not express legislative intent. The supplemental note and fiscal note for this bill may be accessed on the Internet at http://www.kslegislature.org

Legislative Session. The Committee also added a provision to address the occurrence of vacancies on the Commission and to clarify that only voting members are counted when determining a quorum.

The Senate Committee of the Whole amended the bill adding three members, including a trustee of a community college offering technical education and one resident of either Douglas, Johnson, Leavenworth, or Wyandotte county.

The fiscal note indicated that \$28,722 of State General Fund would be needed in FY 2008 to pay for approximately six Commission meetings.