SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1887

A Resolution congratulating and commending the Washburn University debate team for winning the national championship.

WHEREAS, The debate team at Washburn University is the top team in the nation after attaining first place in the 2010 National Parliamentary Debate Association championships held at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas; and

WHEREAS, Out of 360 speakers, two members of the Washburn University team won medals, including Joe Allen of Boise, Idaho, who received third place, and Lauren Knoth of Independence, Missouri, who won fifth place in the individual speaker category; and

WHEREAS, Washburn won the overall squad sweepstakes, which is calculated by tracking the four best individual teams of each squad through the entire preliminary and elimination rounds at the tournament. Washburn took 10 teams to the championships and qualified four of them to elimination rounds, with four additional teams narrowly missing the elimination rounds by one ballot; and

WHEREAS, The last two years, Washburn placed second in the overall sweepstakes, and three years ago they placed third. This is the first national title for the team; and

WHEREAS, The National Parliamentary Debate Association is the first and largest intercollegiate debate tournament in the nation. Washburn was one of 60 squads to compete in the tournament. During the tournament, the squads debate various topics, such as foreign and domestic politics and philosophical perspectives. They debate in parliamentary style, wherein students are given a topic and have 20 to 30 minutes to prepare their arguments; and

WHEREAS, Students from Washburn University who participated in the debate were: Calvin Coker, Aly Fiebrantz, Andrew Lake, Keenan Hogan, Josh Ramsey, Lauren Knoth, Bobby French and Joe Allen. The director of forensics is Kevin O'Leary: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Washburn University debate team for winning the national title at the 2010 National Parliamentary Debate Association championships, for continuing the tradition of excellence in debate at Washburn University, and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send 10 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Hensley.

Senate Resolution No. 1887 was sponsored by Senators Hensley, Kelly and V. Schmidt.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE,

and was adopted by that	body	
		_
		President of the Senate.
		Secretary of the Senate.