SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1873

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Thomas More Prep-Marian High School team for winning the Class 3A KSHSAA State Scholars' Bowl.

WHEREAS, The Thomas More Prep-Marian High School Scholars' Bowl team won the regional championship in the Scholars' Bowl, and then advanced to win the state championship at the 2010 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3A State Scholars' Bowl tournament in February; and

WHEREAS, The competition consists of teams of students answering questions in several categories, such as social studies, science and health, mathematics, language arts, fine arts and current events; and

WHEREAS, Thomas More Prep-Marian won four out of five matches in the tournament, beating Wichita-Independent in the final match to win the championship. The win resulted in medals for each team member and a trophy to be displayed in the school. The team ended their season with an overall record of 69-12; and

WHEREAS, The team members are Matthew Applequist, Alex Becker, Nathan Lawson, Jin Lim, Kaleb Stark and Tanner Younie. The coach is Don Hageman: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Thomas More Prep-Marian Scholars' Bowl team for winning the state championship, we commend them for their hard work and dedication in being outstanding role models to their peers and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send 8 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Lee.

Senate Resolution No. 1873 was sponsored by Senator Janis K. Lee.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.