SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1861

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Thomas More Prep-Marian girls' basketball team for winning their first Class 3A State Basketball Championship and for breaking a school record by winning 24 games in a row.

WHEREAS, The Thomas More Prep-Marian girls' basketball team won the 2010 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3A State Basketball Championship with a 56-45 victory over Marion High School in the state championship game at the Sports Arena in Hutchinson on March 13, 2010; and

WHEREAS, The Thomas More Prep-Marian Monarchs girls' basketball team finished the season with a record of 25-1. The team broke a school record by winning 24 straight games and won their first state basketball championship; and

WHEREAS, The members of the championship team are: Kaylee Hoffman, Jessa Stramel, Sophia Schippers, Shaunna Ruder, Rachel Jacobs, Jenna Lang, Rebecca Pray, Allison Marsell, Heather Ruder, Katelyn Schumacher, Jenna Schuckman and Annie Mindrup. The head coach is Alan Billinger and the assistant coach is Dan Ruda. Team managers are Brianna Haselhorst and Bailee Chrisler: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Thomas More Prep-Marian girls' basketball team and Coach Alan Billinger be congratulated for winning the 2010 Kansas High School Activities Association Class 3A State Basketball Championship and for breaking their school record by winning 24 games in a row. We commend their commitment and hard work and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send 14 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Lee.

Senate Resolution No. 1861 was sponsored by Senator Janis Lee.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.