SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1850

A RESOLUTION recognizing and congratulating the Quinter High School Coaches and Football Team for winning the 2009 8-Man Division I State Football Championship.

WHEREAS, The Quinter High School Football Team won the 2009 8-Man Division I State Football Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Quinter High School Bulldogs won the title by first defeating last year's state runner-up and this year's No. 2 seed, Clifton-Clyde, which was undefeated prior to the sub-state game, by the score of 28-20, and by then defeating last year's champion and this year's No. 1 seed, Baileyville-B&B, which had a 25 game winning streak prior to the championship game, by the score of 28-26; and

WHEREAS, The 2009 Quinter High School football team started the season with Head Coach Greg Woolf and Assistant Coaches Brian Roesch and Jeff Ruckman and after the Week 2 victory over Palco, Coach Woolf announced that he had been diagnosed with cancer and would miss parts of the season for treatment; and

WHEREAS, Coach Woolf turned the team over to Coaches Brian Roesch, as Head Coach and Offensive Coordinator, and Coach Jeff Ruckman, as Defensive Coordinator, for the rest of the season, with Coach Woolf staying involved as an inspirational leader for the team; and

WHEREAS, Coach Brian Roesch was named the Hays Daily News' Coach of the Year on the 26th annual All-Area football team; and

WHEREAS, The team members are seniors Brady Reed (QB/DB), Matt Bird (TE/DB), Jordon Hargitt (RB/LB), Skyler Wittman (TE/DB), Jeremy Amon (G/DL), Thatcher Deaton (G/LB), Zach Nemechek (C/NG), Cody Corwin (C/NG), Scott Ochs (G/DE); juniors Joe Simon (QB/DB), Justin Roesch (FB/LB), Ben Eilert (FB/DL), Sam Leighton (G/DL), Toby Hawbaker (TE/DB); sophomores Logan Reed (FB/LB), Toby Waggoner (TE/LB), Aaron Teeter (C/DL), Brian Ochs (G/DE), Jesse Ochs (TE/LB); and freshmen Zach Bishop (TE/DB), Chance Smith (TE/DB), Alex Albin (RB/LB), Brandon Kerns (G/DL), Austin Heier (G/DE), Braden Evans (G/DE), Dustin Zahn (G/DL), and David Fleener (TE/DB); and

WHEREAS, The Quinter High School Football Team, led by their close-knit senior class, the strong and inspirational coaching, and the enthusiastic support of the other students, their families and the people of the Quinter community area, kept their faith and confidence and dedicated themselves to attain their 8—1 pretourney record and to go on to cap a stellar 2009 season with a final 12—1 record and the state crown: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize and congratulate the Quinter High School Coaches and Football Team for winning their impressive and inspirational 2009 season and for winning the 2009 8-Man Division I State Football Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide one enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Ostmeyer.

Senate Resolution No. 1850 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

| | • |
|--|--------------------------|
| | President of the Senate. |
| | Secretary of the Senate. |