## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1847

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2010 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2010. These seven outstanding educators will be honored on Wednesday, March 31, with a day of receptions, seminars and tours at sponsoring institution Emporia State University; and

WHEREAS, The 2010 Kansas Master Teachers are Eleanor Browning, a Special Education Reading Coach at Flint Hills Special Education Cooperative, Mary Herbert Educational Center in Emporia; Kathy Doussa, a first grade teacher at Northwest Elementary School in Dodge City; Michael Dunlap, a Journalism teacher and Publications Advisor at Blue Valley West High School in Overland Park; Lou Ann Getz, a Clinical Instructor at Anthony & Eisenhower Middle Schools, and Kansas State University Professional Development School in Manhattan and Ogden; Sheila A. Lewis, a teacher at Tecumseh North Elementary School in Tecumseh; Andrea Sayler-Siefkes, a science teacher at St. John High School in St. John/Hudson; and Kassie Shook, a first grade teacher at Sunflower Elementary School in Lawrence; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to teachers described as having "served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers"; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Kansas Senate recognize the invaluable contribution of great teachers such as those being honored here today; they serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration along with instruction. They teach with heart and soul. By giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2010 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we offer our heartfelt thanks to these extraordinary educators—these men and women who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet return and return, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best without succumbing to the frustrations inherent in their jobs; that we congratulate and commend the seven 2010 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrated excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send seven enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Barnett for presentation to the 2010 Master Teachers who are present in the Senate Chamber today.

Senate Resolution No. 1847 was sponsored by Senators Barnett, Abrams, Apple, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Colyer, Donovan, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huelskamp, Huntington, Kelly, Kelsey, Kultala, Lee, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Owens, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.