SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1844

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Kansas Insurance Commissioner Sandy Praeger, recipient of the American Medical Association's top government service award, the Dr. Nathan Davis Award.

WHEREAS, Kansas Insurance Commissioner Sandy Praeger was recently honored with the American Medical Association's Dr. Nathan Davis Award, which is the top government service award for an elected statewide official; and

WHEREAS, The award, named for the founding father of the AMA, recognizes elected and career officials in federal, state or municipal service whose outstanding contributions have promoted the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health; and

WHEREAS, This is the second time that Commissioner Praeger has been given the award, also winning in 1999 when she was a member of the Kansas Senate; and

WHEREAS, This is currently Commissioner Praeger's second term as Kansas Insurance Commissioner. She also chairs the Health Insurance and Managed Care Committee and is a member of several other committees of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). In addition to her consumer advocacy, she serves as a health expert to the national media, such as MSNBC, CNN, Fox Business News, The New York Times, Washington Post, USA Today and the Wall Street Journal. Her past achievements include being the most immediate past President of the NAIC, serving one term in the Kansas House of Representatives and three terms in the Kansas Senate; and

WHEREAS, While working in the Kansas legislature, she worked to gain passage of patient protection laws, external review of health plans and insurance and the expansion of Kansas children's health insurance. In 2001, she led the successful campaign for mental health parity in Kansas. She has also been recognized for her leadership by the Kansas Association for the Medically Underserved on the issue of health care access, and The Center for Populations Options for legislation she sponsored to create teen pregnancy prevention programs; and

WHEREAS, Currently, Commissioner Praeger is responsible for regulating all insurance sold in Kansas and overseeing the nearly 1,700 insurance companies and 90,000 agents licensed to do business in the state. She is also an influential national voice for health care and insurance issues, especially those facing small businesses, and has testified before the U.S. Congress repeatedly concerning these issues; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Praeger has worked diligently to ensure consumers have access to quality, affordable health care. Her passion for championing parity in the health care system has been made evident time and again: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate Sandy Praeger for being the recipient of the American Medical Association's Dr. Nathan Davis Award and commend her for her tireless efforts as an advocate for the American people in the health care and insurance field and wish her continued success and happiness in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send three enrolled copies of this resolution to Sandy Praeger at 420 SW 9th Street, Topeka, KS 66612.

Senate Resolution No. 1844 was sponsored by Senator Ruth Teichman.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

 President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate