SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1838

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending James Franklin for his achievements as part of the state champion Olathe North High School football team, and for winning the 2009 Thomas A. Simone Memorial Football Award.

WHEREAS, James Franklin of Olathe North High School has been an outstanding member of the Olathe North Eagles football team throughout his high school career, culminating with a record-breaking senior year; and

WHEREAS, James has shown admirable dedication and loyalty to his school and has been known to demonstrate his belief that he is only as successful in football as his team as a whole, something that has been accurately reflected as his team won the 2009 6A State Championship; and

WHEREAS, As a senior, James lead the Kansas City area in rushing, amassing 2,803 yards and 31 touchdowns. He also had 5,916 career yards, breaking the school record held by legendary Darren Sproles; and

WHEREAS, James was the recipient of the 2009 Thomas A. Simone Memorial Football Award, giving Olathe North a total of six winners, more than any school in the Kansas City metro area; and

WHEREAS, The Simone Award is the most prestigious local football award, going to the most outstanding player, regardless of position played. James joined such Olathe North greats as Jim Bouknight, Josh Brewer, Maurice Mack, Arland Bruce and NFL star Darren Sproles; and

WHEREAS, The award is selected by a vote of the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association (GKCFCA), head coaches in the metro area and selected media members. The award ceremony took place at Olathe North High School, where the Eagles head coach Pete Flood was also honored with the 2009 Metro Sports Kansas Coach of the Year award, the first time that both awards have come from the same school; and

WHEREAS, James has received a scholarship and signed a letter of intent to play for the University of Nebraska at Omaha to continue his football career on the college level: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend James Franklin for his exceptional performance as part of the state champion Olathe North High School football team, and for winning the 2009 Thomas A. Simone Memorial Football Award, and extend our best wishes for his continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send six enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Lynn.

Senate Resolution No. 1838 was sponsored by Senator Julia Lynn.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
-	0.1.0
	Secretary of the Senate.