SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1831

A RESOLUTION recognizing March 2010 as Deep Vein Thrombosis Month.

WHEREAS, Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT) is an extremely serious medical condition that affects nearly $2,\!000,\!000$ Americans each year; and

WHEREAS, Complications from this medical condition which often is preventable claims up to $200,\!000$ American lives each year; and

WHEREAS, DVT occurs when a blood clot forms in a large vein, usually located in the lower limbs, which leads to blocked circulation and may result in a serious or fatal pulmonary embolism; and

WHEREAS, Risk factors for DVT include cancer and certain heart or respiratory diseases; and

WHEREAS, This condition can be triggered by hospitalization, pregnancy, obesity or restricted mobility during long distance travel; and

WHEREAS, If a patient's assessment indicates that the patient is at risk for DVT, health care providers should use appropriate preventative methods that are consistent with nationally accepted guidelines to prevent DVT; and

WHEREAS, When DVT is diagnosed, health care providers should coordinate efforts so therapy can be administered safely and effectively; and

WHEREAS, There is a dedicated community of patients, families, physicians and researchers, including the Coalition to Prevent Deep Vein Thrombosis, who are committed to preventing, accurately diagnosing DVT and developing effective treatments for this challenging and potentially fatal condition; and

WHEREAS, The Coalition to Prevent Deep Vein Thrombosis is a vital part of this effort: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we commend the Coalition to Prevent Deep Vein Thrombosis and the dedicated community of patients, families, physicians and researchers for their efforts in educating the public about this disease and its prevention: and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send one enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Barnett.

Senate Resolution No. 1831 was sponsored by Senators Barnett, Abrams, Apple, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Colyer, Donovan, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Holland, Huntington, Kelsey, Kultala, Lee, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Owens, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	,
	Secretary of the Senate.