SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1826

A RESOLUTION congratulating Emporia State University on the celebration of Founders Day in recognition of 147 years of educational excellence.

WHEREAS, In 1863, two years after Kansas became a state, Kansas State Normal School was created by an act of the Kansas Legislature and dedicated to the instruction and preparation of teachers. That mission remains key to the education of Kansas students to this day; and

WHEREAS, In 2009, the Teachers College received national recognition during a speech by Arne Duncan, United States Secretary of Education, when he said, "At Emporia State University, home of the National Teachers Hall of Fame, the Teachers College is the crown jewel of the school."; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University continues as a prominent leader in teacher education and preparation as illustrated by the following citations: Described as a pioneer of professional development programs by Edutopia; presentation of the prestigious Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education to Provost Tes Mehring; Presidential Award for Excellence in Science to Dr. Betsy Yanik for Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring; Distinguished Clinician Award, and International Reading Association's Certification of Distinction to three professors; and

WHEREAS, Teacher education graduates have been recipients of the \$25,000 Milken family Foundation Education Awards five times since 1997. Additionally, Emporia State University alumni are well represented among each year's KSDE Horizon Award winners; and

WHEREAS, Rigorous professional accrediting practices by these agencies distinguish all of the schools at Emporia State University: National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE); Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB); National League of Nursing Accrediting Commission and the American Library Association; and

WHEREAS, Annual Leadership Days for African American and Hispanic high school students and Si Se Puede Ciencias y Matematicas focus Emporia State University's respect for diversity; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University takes the lead in creating partnerships with Kansas community colleges, including Butler Community College, Hutchinson Community College, and Kansas City Kansas Community College to provide seamless bachelor degrees to place-bound students; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University is one of the founding institutions and home of the National Teachers Hall of Fame, of which five inductees are Emporia State University alumni; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University is the home of the Kansas Business Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Tuesday, February 16, 2010 was celebrated as Emporia State University Founders Day in recognition of 147 years of educational excellence: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Emporia State University on the celebration of Founders Day in recognition of 147 years of educational excellence; and

Be it further resolved: That we commend Emporia State University for its outstanding service to the people of Kansas for providing excellence in higher education; and

Be it further resolved: That we encourage all Kansans to reflect on the history and heritage of educational excellence provided by all colleges and universities in the great state of Kansas.

Senate Resolution No. 1826 was sponsored by Senators Barnett, Abrams, Apple, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Colyer, Donovan, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huelskamp, Huntington, Kelly, Kelsey, Kultala, Lee, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Owens, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.