## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1823

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2009 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers.

WHEREAS, Twenty-four of Kansas' finest educators have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers. They will be recognized as such at a program on February 25; and

WHEREAS, The 2009 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers are: Tamela Biswell, Wamego High School, Wamego USD 320; Marilyn Clark, Indian Creek Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Dorothy Coleman, Sheridan Elementary School, Geary County USD 475; Jill Cundiff, Lakewood Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Amanda Davis, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Janel Fenster, Newton Sr High School, Newton USD 373; Eileen Hackley, Westwood Elementary School, Geary County USD 475; Megan Hankins, Chisholm Trail Jr High School, Olathe USD 233; Phillip Holmes, Pioneer Trail Jr High School, Olathe USD 233; Jennifer Holt, Eugene Ware Elementary School, Kansas City USD 500; Janet Kellogg, Northview Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Rebecca Leake, Manchester Park Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Ann Lee, Manhattan High School West/East Campus, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Kimberly Lilley, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Marlene McDaniel, Washburn Rural Middle School, Auburn Washburn USD 437; Suzanne Oertel, Washburn Rural High School, Auburn Washburn USD 437; Joel Schaefer, Andover High School, Andover USD 385; Stephanie Sullivan, Emporia Alternative School, Emporia USD 253; Amy Swan, Cedar Creek Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Stacy Vandemark, Pleasant Ridge Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Melissa Vanzant, Trailridge Middle School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Melinda Vicin, Cloud Elementary School, Wichita USD 259; Jennifer Wilson, Wichita North High School, Wichita USD 259; Kimberly Zeller, Rochester Elementary School, Seaman USD 345; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, a voluntary process established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, is a symbol of professional teaching excellence. It is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practice. Through a series of assessments, teachers demonstrate their subject matter knowledge, provide evidence that they know how to teach their subjects to students most effectively, and demonstrate their ability to manage and measure student learning; and

WHEREAS, The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, non-profit, non-partisan and non-governmental organization. Its mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; and advocating related education reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend each of these outstanding educators who have attained the status of National Board Certified Teachers; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 24 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored plus a copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1823 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

<del></del>
President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.