## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1822

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2010 Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Thirty-one beginning educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, sponsored by Kansas State Department of Education, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Horizon Award Program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, currently in its eighth year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for a Kansas Horizon Award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Kansas Horizon Award Program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's United States congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are: Region 1: Jesse Ediger, Graber Elementary School, Hutchinson USD 308; Cole Fredrickson, Marysville Jr/Sr High School, Marysville USD 364; Grant Geis, Emporia High School, Emporia USD 253; Kevin Poland, Salina High School South, Salina USD 305; Kristy Randel, Grant F. Timmerman Elementary School, Emporia USD 253; Anastasia Riedel, Schilling Elementary School, Salina USD 305; Scott Schoenfeld, Southeast of Saline Elementary School, Southeast of Saline USD 306; Alex Underwood, Russell High School, Russell County USD 407; and

Region 2: Amy Bartlow, George Nettels Elementary School, Pittsburg USD 250; Ashley Beason, Washburn Rural Middle School, Auburn Washburn USD 437; Abby Burnett, Paola Middle School, Paola USD 368; Benjamin George, Manhattan High School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Laura Hammond, Shawnee Heights Elementary School, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Jenna Jones, Louisburg High School, Louisburg USD 416; Kala Robinson, Guthridge Elementary School, Parsons USD 503; Sarah Smith, Broadmoor Elementary School, Louisburg USD 416; and

Region 3: Andrew Bricker, Lawrence High School, Lawrence USD 497; Kylee Dardine, Nike Elementary School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231; Lindsay Frazier, Santa Fe Trail Elementary School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Michael Karlin, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231; Megan McMillian, Indian Valley Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Kathy Pickens, Heatherstone Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Alisa Stevenson, Pleasant Ridge Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Tara Wycoff, Lexington Trails Middle School, DeSoto USD 232; and

Region 4: Jarrod Craig, Nelson Elementary School, Haysville USD 261; Shanda Day, Amelia Earhart Elementary School, Goddard USD 265; Eryn Elder, Wichita High School South, Wichita USD 259; Joe Gehrer, Meadowlark Elementary School, Andover USD 385; Taylor Harrison, Valley Center Middle School, Valley Center USD 262; Heidi Johnson, Santa Fe Middle School, Newton USD 373; Joshua Kelly, Tri-City Day School, Haysville USD 261: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2010 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 31 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each educator so honored plus one copy for the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1822 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by the	it body
---	---------

		- 1 01 0
		President of the Senate.
		Secretary of the Senate.