## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1804

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the pioneer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science.

WHEREAS, The Legislature of the state of Kansas enacted legislation in 2006 authorizing the establishment of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science to promote mathematics and science education, increase retention of intellectual capital, and promote economic development; and

WHEREAS, The Legislature of the state of Kansas approved five years of funding for the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science in 2008; and

WHEREAS, Fort Hays State University is a forward-thinking liberal and applied arts university, and is recognized internationally for offering more than 60 degrees in a technology-rich environment. Fort Hays State University aggressively seeks innovative solutions to meet the educational needs of Kansans and enhance the economic future of the state; and

WHEREAS, The State Board of Regents selected Fort Hays State University as the site to host the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science in 2007; and

WHEREAS, Fort Hays State University established the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science allowing Kansas to become the sixteenth state in the country with an academic early-entry-to-college program offering a unique residential learning experience for high achieving high school juniors and seniors who are academically talented in science and mathematics; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science provides a unique, hands-on rigorous research environment with PhD. faculty that focuses on academics, research, leadership development and civic engagement allowing Fort Hays State University to cultivate future citizen-leaders; and

WHEREAS, Students who graduate from the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science will receive a high school diploma and 68 hours of college credit; and

WHEREAS, The pioneer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science convened in the fall semester of 2009 with 26 students, representing all four Kansas congressional districts; and

WHEREAS, The pioneer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science will graduate in 2011; and WHEREAS, The members of the pioneer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science who will graduate in 2011 are: Kaleb Beaugh, Salina; Amanda Berckefeldt, Paola; Leo Budy, Basehor; Emilie Clare, Wichita; Tyler Clark, St. John; Isaac Cook, Olathe; Alexandria Darden, Lansing; Ben Davis, Wichita; Bryant Davis, Wilson; Seth Gooding, Mt. Hope; Alexis Greb-Bonham, Wellington; Whitney Hersh, Topeka; Kassaundra Kirk, Hutchinson; Jaeton Martin, Silver Lake; William Morris, Kingman; William Robertson II, Liberal; Carlton E. Savage, Holcomb; Kathryn Schmidt, Atchison; Christian Sellers, Fort Scott; Jennifer Snyder, Kansas City; Bailey Spickler, Overland Park; Erica Stacey, Great Bend; Mersadez Tanner, Hays and Nicholas Van Swol, Everest: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the pioneer class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science as they approach graduation and wish them continued success in their academic and personal pursuits and encourage them to use their significant gifts to improve the future of their home state; and

Be it further resolved: That we express gratitude to the educators and support staff of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science who, through their dedication and commitment to excellence in education in the fields of mathematics and science, have brought this program to fruition through the success of the pioneer class. The efforts of the educators and support staff of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science are helping to forge the future for the state of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 24 enrolled copies of this resolution to Ron Keller, the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science, for forwarding to each of the 2011 graduates of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus 10 copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science.

Senate Resolution No. 1804 was sponsored by Senators Lee, Morris, Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Emler, Francisco, Haley, Huelskamp, Huntington, Kelly, Kultala, Lynn, Marshall, McGinn, Ostmeyer, Pilcher-Cook, Reitz, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.