## HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6042

 $\label{lem:approx} \begin{tabular}{ll} A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Hanover High School for winning back-to-back championships in both football and basketball. \end{tabular}$ 

WHEREAS, Hanover High School had a tremendous 2009-2010 school year, winning both the Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 1A State Football and Basketball Championships for the second year in a row in both sports; and

WHEREAS, In the fall, Hanover's Eight Man Division II Football Team won their second straight title, defeating Quivira Heights 66-36 in the championship game. The team had a record of 12-1 for the season, and Coach Matt Heuer was selected by the Kansas Eight Man Football Coaches' Association as the Eight Man Football Coach of the Year for Kansas; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Hanover Wildcat Football Team were: Trevor Jueneman, Ethan Diederich, Jerod Diederich, Taylor Nicholson, Austin Steinfort, Mark Zarybnicky, Austin Jueneman, Cody Nieman, Aaron Diederich, Brady Bruna, Zach Shockley, Dylan Goeckel, Derrick Gerard, Brent Bruna, Dylan Bruna, Andrew Donovan, Ryan Diederich, Rory Nieman, Dean Bruna, Skyler Graff, Logan Bruna, Connor Hynek, Josh Meyer, Chad Alexander and Sam Bruna. The head coach was Matt Heuer and the assistant coaches were Zach Lackey and Chris Beikmann. Team managers were Devin Jueneman and Will Bruna; and

WHEREAS, In the winter, the Hanover Wildcats Basketball Team won their second consecutive 1A Kansas State High School Basketball title by beating Montezuma-South Gray 58-49 in the championship game. The state title was the fourth for Hanover and with their 2009 win, it is the school's second back-to-back title, the first occurring in 1998 and 1999. Coach Kim Lohse was also awarded the Kansas Coaches Association Coach of the Year Award; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Hanover Wildcat Basketball team were: Trevor Jueneman, Ethan Diederich, Jerod Diederich, Connor Hynek, Austin Steinfort, Derrick Gerard, Aaron Diederich, Chad Alexander, Brent Bruna, Brady Bruna, Ryan Diederich, Sam Bruna, Austin Jueneman, Taylor Nicholson, Rory Nieman, Danny Snyder, Mark Zarybnicky, Cody Nieman and Dean Bruna. The head coach was Kim Lohse and assistant coach was Matt Heuer. The team managers were Trey Lohse and Cody Rengstorf; and

WHEREAS, In addition to being outstanding athletes, there were several students who were named to the Twin Valley League All-Academic Team. This award is given to students who participate in at least three different Kansas State High School Activities Association sanctioned activities per year, as well as maintaining an exceptional grade point average. Jerod Diederich, Austin Steinfort, Brady Bruna and Rory Nieman received the award, with each student playing on both the basketball and football teams; and

WHEREAS, Both teams have received statewide recognition for their athletic abilities and fine sportsmanship. The success of these teams was due to their unselfish teamwork, competitive spirit and dedication. The teams also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, teachers and staff, fellow students, parents and the entire Hanover community: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Hanover Wildcats Football and Basketball teams and coaches for their back-to-back state championship wins and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness in the future.

House Resolution No. 6042 was sponsored by Representative Sharon Schwartz.

I hereby certify that the above	RESOLUTION originated in the	HOUSE, and was adopted by
that body	_	
,		

	Speaker of the House.
-	Chief Clerk of the House.