HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6003

A RESOLUTION relating to committees of the House of Representatives; amending rules 1101 and 1105.

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That rule 1101 of the House of Representatives be amended to read as follows:

Rule 1101. Standing Committees; Names and Members. (a) The standing committees of the House shall be the following and have the number of members indicated for each:

1.	Aging and Long-term Care
2.	Agriculture and Natural Resources
3.	Appropriations
4.	Calendar and Printing7
5.	Commerce and Labor
6.	Corrections and Juvenile Justice
7.	Economic Development and Tourism
8.	Education 19 21
9.	Elections11
10.	Energy and Utilities
11.	Federal and State Affairs
12.	Financial Institutions13
13.	Government Efficiency and Fiscal Oversight15 13
14.	Health and Human Services 19 23
15.	Higher Education
16.	
$\frac{17}{17}$	16. Interstate Cooperation7
18.	
19.	
$\frac{20}{20}$	19. Rules and Journal5
$\frac{21}{21}$	
<u>22.</u>	
23.	
$\frac{24}{24}$	23. Vision 2020

(b) The house standing committee on economic development and tourism shall constitute the successor committee to the house standing committee on tourism and the house standing committee on tourism and parks for purposes of references in statutory or other documents. The house standing committee on economic development and tourism shall constitute the successor committee to the house standing committee on economic development and the house standing committee on new economy for purposes of references in statutory or other documents. The house standing committee on agriculture and natural resources shall constitute the successor committee to the house standing committee on environment for purposes of references in statutory or other documents. The house standing committee on insurance and the house standing committee on financial institutions shall constitute the successor committees to the house standing committee on insurance and financial institutions for purposes of references in statutory or other documents.

Be it further resolved: That rule 1105 of the House of Representatives be amended to read as follows:

Rule 1105. Budget Committees. (a) There is hereby created the following budget committees of the committee on appropriations which shall have the number of members indicated for each:

1.	Agriculture and natural resources budget committee
2.	Education budget committee8
3.	General government budget committee
4.	Legislative budget committee
5.	Social services budget committee8
6.	Transportation and public safety budget committee8

(b) Members of the budget committees are not required to be members of the committee on appropriations. The Speaker shall designate the number of members of each budget committee who are not members of the committee on appropriations and shall appoint the members of each budget committee who are not members of the committee on appropriations. The chairperson of the committee on appropriations shall appoint the members of the com-

HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6003-page 2

mittee on appropriations. The Speaker shall appoint the chairperson and vice chairperson of each budget committee. The Speaker may remove or replace at any time any budget committee chairperson, vice chairperson or any member of such committee appointed by the Speaker.

(c) Budget committees shall be advisory to and make recommendations to the committee on appropriations. Budget committees are authorized to introduce bills or resolutions, except that budget committees are not authorized to introduce bills containing one or more items of appropriation. Except as otherwise provided in this rule, budget committees shall be deemed to be standing committees under the rules of the House of Representatives.

(d) Budget committee meetings are subject to the Kansas open meetings act, K.S.A. 75-4317a et seq., and amendments thereto.

House Resolution No. 6003 was sponsored by Representatives Michael O'Neal and Paul Davis.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the HOUSE, and was adopted by that body

Speaker of the House.

Chief Clerk of the House.