## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1889

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Johnson County Community College men's basketball team.

WHEREAS, The Johnson County Community College men's basketball team captured the 2009 NJCAA Division II National Championship by defeating Kirkwood Community College by a score of 63-49 at Mary Miller Gymnasium in Danville, Illinois; and

WHEREAS, This national championship is the second title for the JCCC Cavaliers, having also won the championship in 2001; and

WHEREAS, The Cavaliers have been expertly led throughout the season by 2009 National Coach of the Year, Head Coach Mike Jeffers; and

WHEREAS, The Cavaliers focused on defense to key their championship run, holding their opponents to an average of 55.7 points per game and a shooting percentage of .378 percent; and

WHEREAS, The Cavaliers were led in scoring by tournament Most Valuable Player Nafis Ricks, who led the Cavaliers with 21 points in the final against Kirkwood and finished the tournament averaging 16.3 points; and

WHEREAS, In addition to Nafis Ricks, Kenny Moore and Jared Henry were selected to the all-tournament team; and

WHEREAS, Despite injuring his hand in the opening round of the tournament, Kenny Moore refused to quit and continued to play at a high level, saying that "Nothing was going to stop me. I had never won a championship before I came to JCCC. This is the best move in my life coming to JCCC"; and

WHEREAS, The gutsy performance by Kenny Moore, and every player's focus on team defense, indicates the Cavaliers' level of commitment and determination to succeed: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Johnson County Community College men's basketball team and Head Coach Mike Jeffers for winning the 2009 NJCAA National Championship and that we wish them continued success; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide three enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator David Wysong.

Senate Resolution No. 1889 was sponsored by Senator David Wysong.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body  $\,$ 

<del></del>	D 11 . f.1 c .
	President of the Senate.
	· ·
	Secretary of the Senate.
	ordinary of the determine