SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1883

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Olathe East High School boys swimming team.

WHEREAS, The Olathe East High School boys swimming team won its first team Swimming State Championship with $325~{\rm points};$ and

WHEREAS, The Olathe East Hawks significantly outscored the competition in winning the 2009 State Championship with second place Blue Valley North scoring 274 points; and

WHEREAS, The Hawks' relay team of sophomore Ben Scheffler, senior Cris Smith, freshman Ben Bravence and senior Joe Knight won the 400 meter freestyle relay with a time of 3:10.47 minutes; and

WHEREAS, Ben Scheffler also won the 100 meter backstroke with a time of 51.47 seconds; and

WHEREAS, Senior Austin Acheson of Olathe East won the 500 meter freestyle with a Kansas State Meet record of 4:35.02 minutes and was named the Athlete of the Meet; and

WHEREAS, The Olathe East team was expertly led by Head Coach Dave Youker; and

WHEREAS, The individual and team accomplishments of the Olathe East Hawks indicate the high level of commitment and excellence of these young athletes: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Olathe East High School boys swimming team for winning its first team Swimming State Championship and that we wish them all continued success; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide 23 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Karin Brownlee.

Senate Resolution No. 1883 was sponsored by Senators Brownlee, Colyer and Lynn.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.