## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1867

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Colby High School wrestling team.

WHEREAS, The Colby High School wrestling team won the 2009 4A State Wrestling Championship; and

WHEREAS, This championship was the fifth for the Colby wrestlers, having won prior championships in 1936, 1951, 1958 and 2001; and

WHEREAS, The Colby wrestlers had been ranked first by the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association the entire season and verified that ranking by defeating two-time defending state champion Clay Center High School by 8.5 points; and

WHEREAS, The team members are Breck Arnberger, Tanner Kriss, Treat Bugbee, Konnor Kriss, Nathan Reed, Adam Weber, Dryden Baumfalk, Dalton Snyder, Heath Stephens, Garrett Zweygardt and Andrew Flanagin; and

WHEREAS, The Colby Eagles were led by Breck Amberger in the 171 pound weight class and Tanner Kriss in the 215 pound weight class, both of whom capped undefeated seasons with dominating performances in claiming individual state titles; and

WHEREAS, The entire team turned in solid performances with Treat Bugbee finishing second in the 189 pound weight class, Konnor Kriss placing third in the 103 pound weight class, Nathan Reed claiming fifth in the 112 pound weight class and Dryden Baumfalk, Dalton Snyder, Heath Stephens, Garrett Zweygardt and Andrew Flanagin all scoring valuable points for the Eagles; and

WHEREAS, Adam Weber turned in an impressive performance, capturing fifth place in the 285 pound weight class while only weighing in at 190 pounds, the minimum allowed weight, which he only met after drinking copious amounts of water; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles were led by Coach Matt Simms and assistant coaches Rick Williams, Ed Schmitt and Mike Kersenbrock; and

WHEREAS, The individual and team performances of the Colby Eagles demonstrated their true championship spirit: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Colby High School wrestling team and that we wish them all continued success; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

Senate Resolution No. 1867 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

<u> </u>	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.