## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1866

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Highland Park High School boys basketball team.

WHEREAS, The Highland Park High School boys basketball team won the 2009 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 5A State Basketball Championship on Michael Copeland's lay up at the buzzer for a thrilling 54-52 victory over Bishop Miege High School in the state championship game at Topeka, on March 14, 2009; and

WHEREAS, The Highland Park High School Scots basketball team finished the season with a record of 24 wins and 1 loss and after their 2007 undefeated season have won three consecutive state championships with a three-year record of 73 wins and 2 losses; and

WHEREAS, For the 2008-2009 season, the team set and accomplished the following team goals: Oklahoma City Chesapeake Challenge High School Tournament Champions; Topeka Invitational Tournament Champions; Centennial League Champions; 5A Sub-State Tournament Champions; and 5A State Champions; and

WHEREAS, Rico Richardson was named to the 2009 Class 5A All-State first team by the *Topeka Capital-Journal* and *Wichita Eagle*, Centennial League and All-City first teams, Centennial League and All-City Co-Player of the Year and Oklahoma City Tournament MVP; Canon Fields was named to the 2009 Class 5A first team by the *Topeka Capital-Journal* and Class 5A second team by the *Wichita Eagle*, Centennial League and All-City first teams and Centennial League all-defensive team; Michael Copeland was named 2009 Class 5A honorable mention by the *Topeka Capital-Journal* and *Wichita Eagle* and Centennial League honorable mention; and DaVonte Grant was named to the Centennial League and All-City third teams; and Spencer Moore and Joseph Wakefield were named All-City honorable mention; and

WHEREAS, In eight seasons at Highland Park, Coach Ken Darting has led the Scots to seven state tournament appearances and six state championship games, placing runner-up two times and winning the state championship four times. He was named 2009 Centennial League and All-City Coach of the Year and he has been named All-State, Centennial League and All-City Coach of the Year numerous times; and

WHEREAS, The members of this championship team were VR Barber, Jeramiah Brooks, Michael Copeland, AJ Downing, DeMarco Ewing, Canon Fields, DaVonte Grant, Spencer Moore, Desmond Ogles, Rico Richardson, Shaka Thomas, Elijah Tyree and Joseph Wakefield; the head coach was Ken Darting; assistant coaches were Jim Bauersfeld, Michael Calhoun, Michael Jackson and Reid Hein; and team managers were LeOra Birch, Chris Cushinberry, Chanaya Kershner, Isiah Smith and Trense Wheeler; and

WHEREAS, The team received statewide recognition for their athletic abilities and fine sportsmanship. The success of this team was due to their unselfish teamwork, competitive spirit and smothering defense. The team also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, teachers and staff, fellow students, parents and the entire "It's Great to be a Scot" Highland Park community: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Highland Park High School boys basketball team and Coach Ken Darting be congratulated and commended for winning the 2009 Kansas High School Activities Association Class 5A State Basketball Championship, giving them their third consecutive state championship and for a 24-1 season; and

*Be it further resolved*: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 25 enrolled copies of this resolution to Dale Cushinberry, Principal, Highland Park High School, 2424 SE California Avenue, Topeka, KS 66605-1797.

Senate Resolution No. 1866 was sponsored by Senators Hensley, Kelly and V. Schmidt.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.