SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1862

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Smith Center High School wrestling team.

WHEREAS, The Smith Center Redmen won the 2009 Class 3-2-1A Wrestling State Championship with 134.5 team points, beating second place Beloit High School by more than 25 points; and

WHEREAS, The Redmen have won three consecutive wrestling championships, making them the first school in Kansas to win three consecutive championships in wrestling and football at the same time; and

WHEREAS, The team members are Marshall McCall, Travis Rempe, Colt Rogers, Matt Atwood, Trevor Rempe, Kris Lehmann, Kale Newell and Shawn Stansbury; and

WHEREAS, The team has received excellent guidance and instruction from Head Coach Brock Hutchinson and Assistant Coach Nate Smith; and

WHEREAS, The Redmen's dominating performance was led by its Seniors, with Colt Rogers winning the 130 pound weight class, Marshall McCall winning the 152 pound weight class, Travis Rempe winning the 160 pound weight class and Trevor Rempe finishing second in the 145 pound weight class; and

WHEREAS, The consistent level of excellence exhibited by the Smith Center Redmen is a testament to their hard work and dedication: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Smith Center Redmen for another outstanding season and that we wish them future success; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide ten enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Janis Lee.

Senate Resolution No. 1862 was sponsored by Senator Janis Lee.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.