## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1861

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Smith Center High School football team.

WHEREAS, The Smith Center High School football team won the 2008 Class 2-1A State Championship 48-19 over Olpe High School; and

WHEREAS, The win gave the Smith Center Redmen their fifth consecutive State Championship and their 67th consecutive win, setting a new record in Kansas; and

WHEREAS, The Redmen's 67th consecutive victory came four years and two days after Smith Center stood on the same field and brought Pittsburgh Colgan's 66-game winning streak to an end; and

WHEREAS, By winning their 67th consecutive game and 5th straight State Championship, the Redmen cemented their legacy as the greatest dynasty in the history of Kansas high school football; and

WHEREAS, The Redmen are led by Head Coach Roger Barta who has used his experience and expertise to guide Smith Center during this prolonged winning streak; and

WHEREAS, During his 31 seasons leading the Redmen, Coach Barta has amassed an astounding 289-58 record; and

WHEREAS, Seniors Ethan Eastes, Kris Lehmann, Kalen Mace, Marshall McCall, Brit Nixon, Justin Nixon, Travis Rempe, Trevor Rempe, Shawn Stansbury, Trenton Terrill, Johny Troy and Cody Tucker all went through their entire varsity career without losing a single game; and

WHEREAS, This championship and winning streak are testaments to the dedication and hard work put in by every member of the Smith Center football team: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Smith Center High School football team for winning its fifth consecutive State Championship and that we wish the team luck in continuing its impressive winning streak; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide 63 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Janis Lee.

Senate Resolution No. 1861 was sponsored by Senator Janis Lee.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President	of the Senate.
Secretary	of the Senate.