SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1854

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Rawlins County High School girls track team.

WHEREAS, The Rawlins County High School Lady Buffs track team won the 2008 2A Track State Championship; and

WHEREAS, After winning the 1A State Championship in 2007, the Lady Buffs moved up to 2A, but were still able to repeat as State Champions; and

WHEREAS, This accomplishment is all the more impressive since the team consists of only three students; and

WHEREAS, The three team members are seniors Macy Migchelbrink, Sara Miller and Laura Wolters; and

WHEREAS, Macy Migchelbrink won gold medals in the long jump and the 300 meter low hurdles and captured silver medals in the triple jump and 100 meter high hurdles; and

WHEREAS, Sara Miller won a gold medal in the discus and placed fifth in the shot put; and $\,$

WHEREAS, Laura Wolters captured silver medals in both the 800 meter and 1600 meter, setting a new school record for the mile; and

WHEREAS, Repeating as State Champions with only three team members is indicative of the outstanding dedication and ability of the Lady Buffs: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Rawlins County High School girls track team for winning the 2008 2A Track State Championship and that we wish them well in the future: and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

Senate Resolution No. 1854 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body $\,$