## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1846

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2009 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2009. The seven were honored on February 25 at Emporia State University, the sponsor of the program, with a day of tours, seminars and receptions; and

WHEREAS, The 2009 Kansas Master Teachers are Kenneth J. Bingman, an honors and AP biology instructor at Blue Valley West High School in Blue Valley; Lynne "Christy" Boerner, a kindergarten teacher at Central Elementary School in Wamego; Barbara Duffer Cole, a 7th and 8th grade art and English language learner teacher at Shawnee Heights Middle School in Tecumseh; Beverly Steele Furlong, a kindergarten teacher at Sunflower Elementary School in Gardner-Edgerton; Jeline Harclerode, a CONNECT teacher at Emporia Middle School in Emporia; Barbara McCalla, a third grade teacher at Garfield Elementary School in Augusta and Sarah Smith Meadows, a K-5 numeracy coach at Scott Computer Technology Magnet School in Topeka; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1953 and presents the awards annually to teachers described as having "served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers"; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards and a committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2009 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the seven 2009 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrated excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide Senator Jim Barnett with seven enrolled copies of this resolution for presentation to the 2009 Kansas Master Teachers.

Senate Resolution No. 1846 was sponsored by Senators Barnett, Abrams, Apple, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Colyer, Donovan, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huelskamp, Kelly, Kelsey, Kultala, Lee, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Owens, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle and Wysong.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and wa adopted by that body	
President of the	Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.