SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1826

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2009 Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Thirty-two beginning educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, sponsored by Kansas State Department of Education, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Horizon Award Program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, currently in its seventh year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for a Kansas Horizon Award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Kansas Horizon Award Program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's United States congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are: Region 1: Rene Burns and Kathryn O'Loughlin, McCarthy Elementary School, Hays USD 489; Heidi Cabral, Eisenhower Elementary School, Great Bend USD 428; Daniel Dinkel, Sheridan Elementary School, Geary County USD 475; Gena Langley, Riverside Elementary School, Emporia USD 253; Brandi Lundgren, Junction City Middle School, Geary County USD 475; Tiffany Shogren, Emporia Middle School, Emporia USD 253; Teresa Sindelar, Buhler High School, Buhler USD 313; Lisa Twombly, Hiawatha Middle School, Hiawatha USD 415; and

Region 2: Jamie Anthony, Riley County High School, Riley County USD 378; Jodie Berve, Louisburg High School, Louisburg USD 416; Maeghan Bishop, Washburn Rural High School, Auburn Washburn USD 437; Catherine Drake, Central Elementary School, Wamego USD 320; Constance Hanika, Highland Park Central Elementary School, Topeka USD 501; Amanda Provorse, Washburn Rural Middle School, Auburn Washburn USD 437; Jamie Wagner, Tecumseh North Elementary School, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Andrew Wesner, Paola High School, Paola USD 368; and

Region 3: Audrey Baker, Pioneer Ridge Middle School, Gardner-Edgerton USD 231; David Davis, Harmony Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Chaussee Duren, Trailridge Middle School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Molly Dykman, Delaware Ridge Elementary School, Bonner Springs USD 204; Kris Munsch, Bonner Springs High School, Bonner Springs USD 204; Kate Phillips, Liberty View Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Amanda Vail, Prairie Park Elementary School, Lawrence USD 497; Katie Weil, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner-Edgerton USD 231; and

Region 4: Megan Belisle, Jefferson Elementary School, Wichita USD 259; Jessica Bloyd, Haysville Middle School, Haysville USD 261; April Davis, Freeman Elementary School, Haysville USD 261; Emily Huelskamp, Andover Central High School, Andover USD 385; Jacy Kile, Garfield Elementary School, Augusta USD 402; Dustin Murray, Andover Middle School, Andover USD 385; Kristin Tombaugh, Santa Fe Middle School, Newton USD 373; Blake Vargas, El Dorado Middle School, El Dorado USD 490: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2009 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 32 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each educator so honored plus one copy for the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1826 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf.

I herek	by certify t	that the a	bove	RESOLUTION	originated	in t	he Sena	ATE, and	d was ac	lopted	by i	that	boc	ły
---------	--------------	------------	------	------------	------------	------	---------	----------	----------	--------	------	------	-----	----

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.