SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1825

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2008 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers.

WHEREAS, Twenty-seven of Kansas' finest educators have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers. They will be recognized as such at a program on February 19; and

WHEREAS, The 2008 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers are: Stacy Colhouer, Elmont Elementary School, Seaman USD 345; Monica Dreiling, Lincoln Elementary School, Hays USD 489; Pamela Fallis, Chaparral High School, Anthony-Harper USD 361; Freelon Goodson, Fort Riley Middle School, Geary County USD 475; Lori Greeson, Prairie Center Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Claudia Griffith, Wichita West High School, Wichita USD 259; Jennifer Johnson, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Donna Lujano, Pleasant Valley Middle School, Wichita USD 259; Gena Mathes, Elmont Elementary School, Seaman USD 345; Patricia McKinney, Jackson Heights Elementary School, North Jackson USD 335; Abigail Neilburger, Blue Valley North High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Richard Nelson, Manhattan High School West/East Campus, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Sherry Nelson, Emporia High School, Emporia USD 253; Kathleen O'Keefe, Pleasant Valley Middle School, Wichita USD 259; Tyson Ostroski, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Judith Powell, Central Elementary School, Central USD 462; Joell Ramsdell, Arbor Creek Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Leigh Rogers, Prairie Center Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Debra Schapaugh, Frank V. Bergman Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Gretchen Schmanke, Oregon Trail Jr. High School, Olathe USD 233; Regina Schutt, Linwood Elementary School, Wichita USD 259; Jennifer Sissell, Wichita Northwest High School, Wichita USD 259; Andrea Smith, Hocker Grove Middle School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Jay Super, Maize Senior High School, Maize USD 266; Christine Walker, Arbor Creek Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Charles Wells, Emporia High School, Emporia USD 253; Kristin Wright, Clay Center Middle School, Clay Center USD 379; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, a voluntary process established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, is a symbol of professional teaching excellence. It is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practice. Through a series of assessments, teachers demonstrate their subject matter knowledge, provide evidence that they know how to teach their subjects to students most effectively, and demonstrate their ability to manage and measure student learning; and

WHEREAS, The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, non-partisan and non-governmental organization. Its mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; and advocating related education reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend each of these outstanding educators who have attained the status of National Board Certified Teachers; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 27 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored plus a copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1825 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.