SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1820

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Norton Community High School girls' track and field team.

WHEREAS, The Norton Community High School Lady Jays track and field team won the 2008 Class 3A State Championship with 45 points; and

WHEREAS, The 2008 Class 3A State Championship was the first state championship for the Lady Jays since 1982 and only the second in their history; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Jays team members are Courtney LeClair, Laura Lee Baird, Hayli Bozarth, Karajo Jones, Taylor Rossi, Katharine Roy, Raven Brown, Alyssa Thomson, Hannah Waggoner and Dustyna Sprigg; and

WHEREAS, Seven different team members won medals en route to the state championship, truly making it a team effort; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Jays have been led by the experience and wisdom of head coach Jason Jones and assistant coaches Dale Engelbert, Doug Reusink, Todd Fulton and Lucas Melvin; and

WHEREAS, Track and field is one of the more grueling high school sports, requiring these outstanding athletes to dedicate many hours to training: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Norton Community High School Lady Jays track and field team for being the 2008 Class 3A State Champions; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be instructed to provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Ostmeyer.

Senate Resolution No. 1820 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.