SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1816

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Butler Community College football team.

WHEREAS, Butler Community College's football team won the Top of the Mountains Bowl en route to claiming the 2008 National Junior College Athletic Association national championship; and

WHEREAS, This national championship was the Butler Grizzlies' sixth NJCAA national championship and third within the last six years; and

WHEREAS, The 2008 championship was the Grizzlies' second national championship in a row, making them the first team in NJCAA history to twice repeat as national champions; and

WHEREAS, Butler head coach Troy Morrell has compiled a 95-11 overall record in nine seasons, including three national titles and eight conference titles; and

WHEREAS, The Grizzlies were led offensively by Randell Bell, who ran 22 times for 87 yards and two touchdowns and was named the game's offensive MVP; and

WHEREAS, Zac Clark, who led the Grizzlies with four tackles and two sacks while applying constant pressure on the quarterback, was named the defensive MVP; and

WHEREAS, The team members on offense are quarterbacks Chance Riley and Press Taylor; running backs Randell Bell, Tony Williams, Tywon Hubbard, Delando Henderson, Ricky Jacques, Ricardo Wallen and Lucas Hamm; fullback Taylor Beitler; wide receivers Faron Hornes, Arrison Davis, Edgard Theliar, Jonathan Owens and Tyrece Gaines; offensive linemen Sheldon Barnhardt, Erik Dahl, Ben Blankenship, Chad Modlin, Ty Henry, Matt Bruner, Robert Shapel, Austen Hybsha, DeShawn Smith and Swede Johnson; tight ends Alex Estes, Jordan Voelkar and Nate Larkins; long snapper Eric Hill; punter Zac Stetler; and kicker Logan Ortiz; and

WHEREAS, The team members on defense are defensive linemen Jonathan Massaquoi, Zac Clark, Donald Sanky, Seth Beard, Jeffery Thompson, Garrett Jacobsen and Malcom Sharp; linebackers Jarrett Wright, Deandre Howard, Forlando Johnson and Demonte Hill; and defensive backs LeRoy Smith, Rudell Crim, Brad Briggs, Felix Snipes, Harrison Dreiling, Jared Milo, DeLeon McCord, T.J. Shine, Ryan Downing, Laron Scott and Jovanta Boyd; and

WHEREAS, Butler's coaches Troy Morrell, Steve Braet, Aaron Flores, Tim Schaffner, Chris Jones, Matt Mattox, Paige Anders, John Coslett, Chad Knitter and Darrin SanRomani have provided excellent guidance and leadership in developing this national championship team: and

WHEREAS, The help provided by student assistants Doug Decoursey and Jarvis Love; team managers Zach Laffery, Steven Adams, Curtis Myers, Josh Huggins, Matt Brown and Nick Montgomery; athletic director Todd Carter and assistant athletic director Matt Jacobs; and head trainer Morgan Sommers was instrumental in the team's success: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Butler Community College football team for winning consecutive NJCAA national championships and instilling a tradition of excellence at Butler; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide seventy-five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Masterson for presentation to the team.

Senate Resolution No. 1816 was sponsored by Senator Ty Masterson.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.