SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1815

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Residential Construction Management Team from McPherson High School.

WHEREAS, On January 21, 2009, McPherson High School's Residential Construction Management Team won 2nd place in the nation in the high school division of the 2009 International Builders' Show Residential Construction Management Competition; and

WHEREAS, The team members are Craig Lolling, Courtney Huber, Preston Mossman, Taylor Stevens and Michael Bruns with coach Arlan Penner; and

WHEREAS, The competition required the team to assemble a complete set of house plans, cost estimates and a detailed schedule for a home to be built in San Antonio, Texas; and

WHEREAS, McPherson was one of only 11 high school teams accepted into the competition, in addition to 39 universities and 20 two-year colleges; and

WHEREAS, McPherson's success was enabled with the financial support of their sponsors: The McPherson Area Contractors Association, the National Home Builders Association, the McPherson Community Education Foundation, the NuStar Foundation, the National Cooperative Refinery Association, the Wichita Area Builders Association, the American Maplan Corporation, the Light Capital Kiwanis and Joe and Diane Levens; and

WHEREAS, The technical skills and cooperation demonstrated by McPherson High School in winning this award is a testament to the commitment and hard work of the team and is deserving of all the recognition they have received: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Residential Construction Management Team from McPherson High School for winning 2nd place in the entire nation in the high school division of the 2009 International Builders' Show Residential Construction Management Competition.

Senate Resolution No. 1815 was sponsored by Senator Jay Scott Emler.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

	_
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.