SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1806

A RESOLUTION honoring and thanking Shirley Higgins.

WHEREAS, Shirley Higgins has served the Kansas Legislature in various positions for well more than 20 years; and

WHEREAS, Shirley Higgins was born in Muskogee, Oklahoma. She attended East Indianola Elementary School in Topeka, Kansas and graduated from Seaman High School before graduating from Washburn University; and

WHEREAS, In 1982, Shirley Higgins' service to Kansas began when she was hired to work as a Senate Commercial and Financial Institutions committee secretary, a position she held for seven years before she worked as a Senate Local Government committee secretary for eight years; and

WHEREAS, Shirley Higgins continued to support the Senate in her work as the Senate Assessment and Taxation committee secretary, a position she held for eight years before working as a Senate Education committee assistant for four years as well as working as a permanent part-time secretary for the Joint Committee on Special Claims Against the State; and

WHEREAS, Shirley Higgins has been a tremendous asset to the Kansas Legislature throughout her years of service which have been marked by her attention to detail and hard work; and

WHEREAS, After her many years of working for the Kansas Legislature in various capacities, Shirley Higgins plans to retire to dedicate more time to interior decorating and supporting the economy through her love of shopping: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we honor Shirley Higgins for her professional accomplishments, thank her for her contribution of many dedicated years of public service given to the State of Kansas and wish her continued success in all her future endeavors.

Senate Resolution No. 1806 was sponsored by Senators Morris, Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Colyer, Donovan, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huelskamp, Kelly, Kelsey, Kultala, Lee, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, McGinn, Ostmeyer, Owens, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle and Wysong.

hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and v	was
dopted by that body	

	President of the Senate.
_	Secretary of the Senate.