## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. 1604

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION encouraging the Kansas State Historical Society to develop a plan to commemorate the sesquicentennial of the admission of Kansas to the Union.

WHEREAS, Kansas will celebrate its 150th anniversary of statehood in 2011; and

WHEREAS, Kansas entered the Union as the 34th state when President James Buchanan signed the bill making Kansas a state on January 29, 1861; and

WHEREAS, President Abraham Lincoln raised the 34-star flag over Independence Hall in Philadelphia on February 22, 1861, to commemorate Kansas' entry into the Union; and

WHEREAS, Kansas has the proud distinction of being founded for the cause of abolition of slavery; and

WHEREAS, Kansas was inhabited long before it became a state and was named for the Kansa Native American tribe; and

WHEREAS, Kansas was at the center of the wagon trails heading west and benefitted from the resulting diverse population that settled and prospered; and

WHEREAS, Kansas has been at the forefront of history in pushing for greater rights for all peoples, and the protection of children; and

WHEREAS, Kansas ranchers and farmers established an industry that continues to provide food for the nation; and  $\frac{1}{2}$ 

WHEREAS, Kansas' innovative spirit has made the state a leader in aviation, education, medicine, science and technology; and

WHEREAS, Kansans have proudly served the country in the military since the Civil War; and  $\,$ 

WHEREAS, Many notable Kansans have placed the state in the national spotlight, including Charles Curtis, Amelia Earhart, Dwight D. Eisenhower and William Allen White: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas, the House of Representatives concurring therein: That the Legislature encourages the Kansas State Historical Society to develop a plan for 2011 to commemorate the sesquicentennial of Kansas' admission to the Union to recognize the remarkable 150 years of Kansas history.

I hereby certify that the above Concurrent Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.
Adopted by the House	·
•	
	Speaker of the House.
	Chief Clerk of the House.