## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1862

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2007-2008 University of Kansas men's basketball and football teams and the debate teams.

WHEREAS, The University of Kansas has seen its students achieve tremendous success in recent academic and athletic competitions; and

WHEREAS, The KU men's basketball team won the 2008 NCAA Basketball Championship, capping off a 37-3 season with a thrilling 75-68 victory over Memphis, marking the fifth time the Jayhawks have won a national basketball title; and

WHEREAS, Mario Chalmers was named Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four and was named to the NCAA Final Four All-Tournament Team, along with Brandon Rush and Darrell Arthur; and

WHEREAS, The KU football team won the 2008 Orange Bowl, defeating Virginia Tech 24-21, making KU the first school from Kansas to win a Bowl Championship Series game, and resulting in a 12-1 record, the best in school history; and

WHEREAS, Aqib Talib was named the Orange Bowl's Most Valuable Player and Coach Mark Mangino was honored with numerous coach of the year awards, including one from the American Football Coaches Association; and

WHEREAS, The KU debate team finished the season ranked No. 1 in the National Debate Tournament varsity rankings, the second time in three years the team has finished the season at the top of the standings; and

WHEREAS, Sixteen KU debaters competed in 22 tournaments this year, winning or placing second in 10 of them, including the Cross Examination Debate Association national tournament and tournaments hosted by Harvard and Dartmouth; and

WHEREAS, The students who were a part of these three teams serve as positive role models for young Kansans through their dedication to excellence and their proud representation of their school and their state in the arena of competition; and

WHEREAS, The head coaches of these teams, Bill Self, Mark Mangino and Scott Harris, continue to guide their teams with class, demonstrating all that is best about collegiate competitions: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the University of Kansas men's basketball and football teams and the debate teams on their success and wish them the best of luck in future competitions and in their lives; and

*Be it further resolved*: That the Secretary of the Senate provide five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Marci Francisco for presentation to the University of Kansas.

Senate Resolution No. 1862 was sponsored by Senators Francisco, Allen, Apple, Barnett, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Emler, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jordan, Journey, Kelly, Lee, Lynn, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Palmer, Petersen, Pine, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle, Wilson and Wysong.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

|  | President of the Senate. |
|--|--------------------------|
|  | Secretary of the Senate. |