## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1857

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Kansas City Kansas Community College debate team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas City Kansas Community College debate team competed in the Cross Examination Debate Association's national tournament on Monday, March 24, 2008, in Wichita, Kansas, and captured a fifth straight title and the McClintock Trophy; and

WHEREAS, The community college competes against four-year institutions throughout much of the season and has consistently demonstrated a high standard of excellence in debate; and

WHEREAS, The 2007-2008 Kansas City Kansas Community College debate team consists of Anthony Dubin, Jason Foster, Noah Fugate, Cozette Howell, Melvin Kirkendoll, Nicholas Kirkendoll, Andy Montee, Austin Montee, Miranda Nichols, Christopher Rohan and Elizabeth Smith; and

WHEREAS, The debate team champions were coached by head coach Darren Elliot and assistant coaches Clay Crockett, Peter Lawson, Amanda Montee and Adrian Self: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Legislature congratulates and commends the Kansas City Kansas Community College debate team for winning its fifth straight national title and for continuing a tradition of excellence in debate; further, that we congratulate and commend the debate team coaches for the expert guidance they have given to this champion debate team; and

*Be it further resolved*: That the Secretary of the Senate is directed to provide 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Chris Steineger for presentation to the team, coach and school.

Senate Resolution No. 1857 was sponsored by Senators Gilstrap, Haley and Steineger.

 ${\rm I}$  hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.