SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1855

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Coach Shane Cordell of Little River High School.

WHEREAS, Coach Cordell coaches the girls' basketball team at Little River High School. When the Little River High School girls' basketball team won their game on February 1, 2008, it marked Cordell's $500 \mathrm{th}$ win as coach for their team. His overall record that day was $500 \mathrm{~wins}$ and $183 \mathrm{~loses}$; and

WHEREAS, For 28 years, the girls' basketball team at Little River High School has had the privilege of having Coach Cordell. During that time, he has won four straight state championships from 1995-1998. During the course of the 1996-97 season, Little River defeated the 2A, 4A and 5A state champions; and

WHEREAS, Coach Cordell has set a state record with 91 consecutive wins, including a title in the Mid-America Classic; and

WHEREAS, The roots of Coach Cordell's coaching influence trace back to his time as a student at Little River. Coach Cordell graduated from Little River High School in 1973. As a basketball player he was exposed to coaches who preached a heavy emphasis on man-to-man defense — a practice that Coach Cordell follows today; and

WHEREAS, Coach Cordell's record earned the respect of his players. He, in turn, teaches his players how to play fundamental basketball. As a result, those players believe that "those fundamentals paid off, not only as a team, but also individually": Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Coach Shane Cordell for his winning record, his excellent coaching, and his dedication to helping students; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 10 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Jay Scott Emler for presentation to Coach Shane Cordell and his family.

Senate Resolution No. 1855 was sponsored by Senator Jay Scott Emler.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate