SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1854

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2008 McPherson High School girls' basketball team.

WHEREAS, On March 8, 2008, the McPherson High School girls' basketball team, known as the "Bullpups," defeated Bishop Carroll with a score of 61 to 53 to win the Class 5A state championship title and are also the 2008 AVCTL Division II undefeated league champions; and

WHEREAS, The victory marked the 7th girls basketball Class 5A championship title in school history, with other championships in 1981, 1982, 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2005; and

WHEREAS, The victory also marked the 13th consecutive state tournament that the McPherson High School girls' basketball team has competed in; and

WHEREAS, The championship team members include seniors Jordi James, Jill Nowak and Kaitlin Reed, who are co-captains of the team; seniors Lacey Carlson, Allie Houghton and Staci Regier; juniors Shelby Horton and Kelsie Sorenson; sophomores Katie Bomberger, Ashley Seely and Nikki Wentling; and freshmen Casyn Buchman and Leigh Loving; and

WHEREAS, The team was guided to victory by head coach Chris Strathman, assistant coaches Tim Ellet, Rick Reed and Annie Sorenson and managers Chris Bell, Brent Gipson and Lauren McClenton: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the McPherson High School girls' basketball team for winning the 2008 Class 5A state championship and for continuing a tradition of excellence in girls basketball; further, that we congratulate and commend their coaches and managers for the expert guidance they have given to this champion basketball team; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate is directed to provide 21 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Jay Scott Emler for presentation to the team, coaches and managers.

Senate Resolution No. 1854 was sponsored by Senator Jay Scott Emler.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.