SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1853

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Tipton Catholic High School boys' golf team and Coach Troy Tonne for winning the 2007 Class 1A State Sand Greens Golf Championship.

WHEREAS, The Tipton Catholic High School boys' golf team won the State Sand Greens Golf Championship at Leonardville Golf Course on May 21, 2007; and

WHEREAS, The Tipton team score was 284, which secured the top spot by a margin of eight strokes with Riley County and Lakeside tied for second; and

WHEREAS, No Tipton team had taken home the trophy at the State Sand Greens Tournament since 1991, but this year a combination of great talent and discipline allowed the Tipton Catholic High School boys' golf team to regain the title for the town of Tipton; and

WHEREAS, The State winning team consisted of juniors Alex Gasper, Derek Schroeder and Mike Richey, sophomore Travis Schroeder, and freshmen Matt Murrow and Junior Hollerich. The team alternates were freshman Garrett Greif and junior Jaron Hake; and

WHEREAS, Junior Alex Gasper finished in first place with a score of 66. Sophomore Travis Schroeder placed seventh with a score of 70. Freshman Matt Murrow tied for 12th place with a score of 72 and junior Derek Schroeder tied for 18th place with a score of 76. Junior Mike Richey was one shot from medaling with a score of 77, and Junior Hollerich played consistent golf to round out the team; and

WHEREAS, The eight dedicated Tipton golfers have put in many long hours of practice and deserved to have their hard work pay off in the season's grand finale: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Tipton Catholic High School boys' team for winning the 2007 Class 1A State Sand Greens Golf Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide 10 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Janis Lee for presentation to the team and its coach.

Senate Resolution No. 1853 was sponsored by Senator Janis Lee.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.