SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1849

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Smith Center High School football team for being the 2007 Kansas State High School Activities Association 2-1A State Football Champions.

WHEREAS, The 2007 state title is the 7th overall for the Smith Center Redmen and the 4th in as many years. The Redmen head into the fall 2008 season with a 54 game winning streak which is the longest active streak in Kansas, and just 12 games shy of the state record of 66 games; and

WHEREAS, The Redmen's exceptional 2007 season included setting a National Federation record by scoring 72 points in the first quarter of the team's 83-0 win over Plainville; setting a new scoring margin of 63.23 points per game; outscoring opponents in the regular season 557-0, with a final tally of 844-20; and being featured in a New York Times article; and

WHEREAS, Members of the football team and cheerleading squad are role models to younger students. Trading cards of each player and cheerleader are traded at the elementary school. If any of them breaks a contract agreeing to say no to alcohol, drugs and tobacco, the trading card is revoked and that player or cheerleader must go to the elementary school and explain why; and

WHEREAS, The Redmen were coached by Field Turf Bill Yoast National Coach of the Year Roger Barta, and assistant coaches Dennis Hutchinson, Brock Hutchinson, Mike Rogers and Tim Wilson: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Smith Center Redmen football team be congratulated and commended for continuing an outstanding football tradition by winning the Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 2-1A state football championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 57 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Janis Lee for presentation to the team and its coaches.

Senate Resolution No. 1849 was sponsored by Senator Janis Lee.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.