SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1842

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Highland Park High School boys' basketball team and Coach Ken Darting for winning the 2008 boys' Class 5A State Basketball Championship and for a 24-1 season.

WHEREAS, The Highland Park High School boys' basketball team won the 2008 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 5A State Basketball Championship with a 64-39 victory over Wichita Bishop Carroll High School in the state championship game at Topeka on March 8, 2008; and

WHEREAS, The Highland Park High School Scots basketball team finished the season with a record of 24 wins and 1 loss and, after their 2007 undefeated season, have won back-to-back state championships with a two-year record of 49 wins and 1 loss; and

WHEREAS, For the 2007-2008 season, the team set and accomplished the following team goals: Leavenworth Invitational Tournament Champions; Topeka Invitational Tournament Champions; Centennial League Co-Champions; 5A Sub-State Tournament Champions; and 5A State Champions; and

WHEREAS, Rico Richardson was named to the 2008 All-State first team, the first sophomore to be so named since 1996 by the Topeka Capital-Journal and All-State second team by the Wichita Eagle, and he was also named to the Class 5A, Centennial League and All-City first teams; Adrian Herrera was named to the All-State second team, Class 5A first team, Centennial League second team and All-City first team; Ty Modupe was named to the All-State third team, Class 5A first team, Centennial League and All-City second team; DeVonte Grant was named All-City honorable mention; and Patrick Inyard was named All-City honorable mention; and

WHEREAS, In seven seasons at Highland Park, Coach Ken Darting has led the Scots to six state tournament appearances and five state championship games, placing runner-up two times and winning the state championship three times. Coach Darting has also been named All-State, Centennial League and All-City Coach of the Year numerous times including 2008 All-State Coach of the Year by the Wichita Eagle and Centennial League Co-Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The members of this championship team were V.R. Barber, Michael Copeland, DeMarco Ewing, Canon Fields, DeVonte Grant, Adrian Herrera, Patrick Inyard, Ty Modupe, Spencer Moore, Desmond Ogles, Willie Ramsdell, Rico Richardson and Joseph Wakefield. The head coach was Ken Darting; the assistant coaches were Jim Bauersfeld, Mike Calhoun, Aaron Terry and Raphael Posey; and team managers were Justin Burkhardt, TaSean Lockett and Precious Parham; and

WHEREAS, The team received statewide recognition for their athletic abilities and fine sportsmanship. The success of this team was due to their unselfish teamwork, competitive spirit and smothering defense. The team also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, teachers and staff, fellow students, parents and the entire Highland Park community: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Highland Park High School boys' basketball team and Coach Ken Darting be congratulated and commended for winning the 2008 Kansas High School Activities Association Class 5A State Basketball Championship and for a 24-1 season; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 25 enrolled copies of this resolution to Dale Cushinberry, Principal, Highland Park High School, 2424 S.E. California Avenue, Topeka, KS 66605-1797.

Senate Resolution No. 1842 was sponsored by Senator Anthony Hensley.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in	the Senate, and was adopted by that body
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.