SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1839

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Riley County High School Falcons girls' basketball team.

WHEREAS, The Riley County High School Falcons girls' basketball team won the 3A state basketball championship for 2008 with their win over the Cimarron Bluejays 46 - 30; and

WHEREAS, The 2008 state title is the second for the Falcons in four years, the third in the school's history; and $\frac{1}{2}$

WHEREAS, Despite the pressure of very high expectations after last year's first round state tournament loss, the Falcons had an undefeated season; and

WHEREAS, Despite injuries to two of the team's strongest players, Kylie Rothlisberger and Lainey Uphoff, Falcons' Coach Harold Oliver calls the team one of the best teams the school has ever had in terms of depth and the combination of size and speed. Coach Oliver credits the team's excellence in both offense and defense to "very nice chemistry" among the team members; and

WHEREAS, The Falcon Seniors this year are Elice Frey, Annie Martin, Katie Henry, Abbey Haag and Tiffany Bulk. The rest of the team includes Kylie Rothlisberger, Bryanna Underwood, Hayley Starnes, Beth Husted, Becca Tittel, Stacy Buss, Lindsey Jones, Lainey Uphoff and Cheyanne Sullivan; and

WHEREAS, Coach Oliver was assisted by Coaches Steve Wagner and Emily Nelson: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Riley County High School Falcons girls' basketball team for their commitment and hard work in achieving the 3A state basketball championship for 2008; further, we congratulate and commend their coaches, Harold Oliver, Steve Wagner and Emily Nelson, for their expert guidance and encouragement; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 17 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Mark Taddiken for presentation to the team and coaches.

Senate Resolution No. 1839 was sponsored by Senator Mark Taddiken.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.