SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1829

A RESOLUTION recognizing the 75th anniversary of the Edward "Ted" Rowe VFW Post 2709 in Scranton, Kansas.

WHEREAS, The Edward "Ted" Rowe VFW Post 2709 was named after the first Scranton man to die in World War I; and

WHEREAS, The post was instituted on October 10, 1932, with 88 charter members, and the Auxiliary was instituted on November 29, 1932, with 63 charter members; and

WHEREAS, The first commander was Albert Alberg, and the first Auxiliary President was Thelma Alberg; and

WHEREAS, The priorities have always been the veterans, youth and community. The post's most important programs are veterans hospitals, VFW national home for children, cancer aid and research, Operation Uplink, and assisting with veterans' unmet needs. The post also helps the homeless and those who are less fortunate. Members of the post put in hours for community service and assist with a new program for their district, Wreaths Across America; and

WHEREAS, The post has the Patriotic Art, Voice of Democracy scholarship program for grades 9-12 and the Patriots Pen for grades 6-8; and

WHEREAS, The post tries each year to honor a Youth Volunteer of the Year, a Teacher of the Year and a Veteran of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The post's present commander is John Starkebaum, who is in his 1st year. The current Auxiliary President is Donna Biester, who is in her 13th year as President: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize 2008 as the 75th anniversary of the founding of the Edward "Ted" Rowe VFW Post 2709 in Scranton, Kansas and that we thank them for their service to their community and state; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide 5 enrolled copies of this resolution to Donna Biester, President, VFW Auxiliary Post 2709, 311 South Mason, #4, Scranton, KS 62537.

Senate Resolution No. 1829 was sponsored by Senator Anthony Hensley.

I hereby certify that the above	RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was
adopted by that body	Ü
- ,	

President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.